Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
very tasty, lovely meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariolek8

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This was an awesome recipe. (I didn't have whipping cream so I substituted with greek yogurt and it made the final result slightly too tangy, so next time I'll buy the cream in advance.) Very time-consuming, like most Indian food, but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Mmmmmmmm.......So yummy!! I followed the recipe for the most part and it was delicious! I only marinated the chicken for about 30 minutes and it was so good I started eating it before I added it to the sauce. Sorry about the bad photo, it smelled so good I started to eat before I remembered to photograph it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlejessmo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This was delicious! The only thing I changed was to use some bird's eye chilis from our garden instead of green chilis. Good flavors and spice level. Ate with some naan, and everything was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Awesome! My husband said, if he hadn't watched me make this dish, he would have guessed, I bought it at our local Indian restaurant. I only changed two things. I did not have any turmeric on hand, so I used curry powder instead and I increased the amount of cream because I like lots of sauce. I will definitely make this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by riesendw
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I found this recipe this past Tuesday evening and because of my busy schedule, I knew I was going to have to wait until this weekend to make it. My mouth has been watering all week just thinking about it. Well let me just say that it was WELL worth the wait.... served over Jasmine rice and I absolutely LOVED it! I made a double batch to have plenty to eat thru the weekend and maybe for lunch at work next week. I made a couple of changes from the written instructions, and it came out just fine. 1) I wasn't too sure about the idea of baking yogurt-covered chicken, plus I don't trust the oven in my apartment, so I decided I'd cook them by simmering them with the rest of the ingredients. I cut the chicken into small cubes (about sugar cube size), rather than strips to help them cook more quickly. I marinated them as directed, then added them (including all of the yogurt marinade) where directed to in the instructions. Simmered everything for about 15-20 minutes to make sure everything was cooked. The chicken stayed extremely tender since I didn't give it a chance to dry out in the oven. 2) I realized as I was opening the tomato paste that I bought the one with italian spices in it...sigh... So I scrapped the paste and went with a can of tomato sauce instead, and just left out the water the recipe calls for. 3) Added an extra 1/4 cup of cream to make the sauce go a little further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riesendw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
The recipe was amazing. But a little spicy for some of my guests. Used coconut milk instead of heavy whipping cream, and only marinated the chicken for an hour instead of two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I loved this recipe!!!! I didn't have cumin seeds so I used ground cumin. I didn't have fresh ginger either so I used ground instead. The last substitution I made was the chiles and roma tomato. I used a can of dice tomatoes with green chiles. I loved this and can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by opheliamiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Great recipe! Tons of flavor, tons of spice and great with chicken and pork. I used pork chops, and they ended out a little tough, but they may have been freezer burned. Also didn't have time to marinade for 2 hours, so I think it only marinated 45 minutes, but still super tasty. Served with couscous, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarion, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pomeroy, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States