Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
This was WOW-tastic and easy! Didn't have garam masala so I made my own from a recipe on this site, look up "Easy Garam Masala". I added green and red onions to the mix, and 1/4 cup coconut milk. The coconut milk gives it a slightly sweet hint - highly recommended! My supermarket ran out of fresh ginger so I used the pink stuff that comes with sushi which was totally fine. Also used 1/2 can of diced green chiles instead of fresh. My boyfriend said it was better than any Chicken Tikka Masala he's had from a restaurant and he lived in England for 3 years. This is a definite keeper... excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Very very good. I made the recipe almost as is, as I didn't have cumin seeds and used ground cumin instead. Also, after I added the tomatoes/spices and cooked them down, I blended the sauce. This gave it the restaurant style consistency I was looking for (before that it looked like salsa soup). After I blended the sauce, I stirred in the cream and put the chicken in and let it simmer slowly for about 10 mins to let the flavors meld together. When it was done, I used the choped cilantro. It was better than the kind I get at my favorite restaurant. Served with homemade naan and jasmine rice. Thank you so much! You gave me what I was looking for and more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
good! would make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShelleyLynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I made this recipe two ways, 1st way was exactly how the recipe reads. The 2nd was the way the recipe reads, except I used two cans of Campbell's Tomato soup (family size) (for more sauce) instead of using tomatoes and tomato paste, (I doubled all the spices due to additional sauce) I personally like how the tomato soup made this recipe taste creamier, I thought the tomatoes and tomato paste gave the recipe a tangy taste. Both ways are very good!!! I will definitely use this recipe again and depending on what mood I am in (creamy or tangy) will determine how it will be made!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This recipe was so delicious. It is good to know that if I ever were to crave Tikka Masala I do not have to drive over 30 minutes to eat it. Next time, I will try to add more whipping cream etc. for more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Delicious! My boyfriend's parents are from India, he said it tasted like his Mom's cooking. I added an extra green chile because we like it spicy. Watch the video here on AllRecipes about Indian style Basmati rice. First time I got rice to come out perfectly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I loved this recipe and it was the first time cooking it. I made an adjustment for the whip cream I used low fat cream cheese. I also served over Basmati rice and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kgibson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
CHicken Tikka Masala is my favorite dish when I go out to eat in an Indian restaurant. This recipe did not disappoint! I made the recipe exactly the way I was instructed. I thought I didn't change the recipe, but as I started writing this I realized I forgot to add the whipping cream to it! Nobody even noticed! It was soo tasty! And leaving the whipping cream out REALLY cut out a lot of calories! I don't do much cooking with peppers, so I learned the hard way that a green chile pepper is the same thing as an Anaheim pepper. The dish came out mildly spicy. I did need to blow my nose after eating it, but it didn't scald my tongue. The taste is delicious! I love it! I wouldn't change a thing on it! The whipping cream is totally optional in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
It's alright but really off. It doesn't taste like it's from an Indian restaurant which is really what I was hoping for. This is a lot spicier and much more tangy with a heaver tomato flavor than the "authentic" tikka masala that I would get from an Indian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Amazing, restaurant quality Tikka Masala. Makes an impressive dish with complex, aromatic flavors that blend together nicely. A bit time consuming to prepare but well worth the effort. For the marinade, used non-fat Greek plain yogurt, and marinated the chicken for four hours instead of two. For the remainder of the recipe, subbed ground cumin since didn’t have cumin seeds, 2 serrano peppers w/ seeds for green chile peppers, 1/4 cup chicken broth for water, and 1/2 cup coconut milk for heavy whipping cream. The main caution for achieving a successful outcome is to consider the heat tolerance for whoever is eating this dish. Green chile (a/k/a Anaheim chile, California Green) peppers range from mild and sweet to moderate hot. On the Scoville Heat Index, a jalapeno pepper can easily exceed 2X the value of a green chile, and a serrano pepper can easily exceed 4X its value; removing the seeds & ribs will also reduce the heat (if not sure, reserve these and add in later if desiring more heat or add some cayenne pepper to taste). For folks who like Indian cuisine, this will be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe

Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States