Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This recipe is awesome. A definite keeper in my kitchen. After returning from India and craving the food, this recipe provided the most authentic experience I could find. I only had Greek yogurt, but appreciated the taste. I also experimented with a vegetarian version and found that either tofu or paneer could be substituted for chicken. Dynamite recipe, but make sure to follow it with all the spices for the most authentic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aja
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This recipe was very good! There's a great amount of spice in this dish. I go back and forth between adding the peppers or not for my spice level conscious friends. It may have a long list of ingredients, but it is very easy to make. This recipe is also a good base to switch it up with paneer or shrimp- instead of chicken. Top this over some lentils or rice if you choose and you won't be disappointed! The only drawback is waiting to cook and eat it while the chicken is marinating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Amazing. Followed recipe direction closely. Turned out delicious. Great with naan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Good eats!!! However I have been unable to locate the garam masala spice... it still tasted amazing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
This was WOW-tastic and easy! Didn't have garam masala so I made my own from a recipe on this site, look up "Easy Garam Masala". I added green and red onions to the mix, and 1/4 cup coconut milk. The coconut milk gives it a slightly sweet hint - highly recommended! My supermarket ran out of fresh ginger so I used the pink stuff that comes with sushi which was totally fine. Also used 1/2 can of diced green chiles instead of fresh. My boyfriend said it was better than any Chicken Tikka Masala he's had from a restaurant and he lived in England for 3 years. This is a definite keeper... excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Very very good. I made the recipe almost as is, as I didn't have cumin seeds and used ground cumin instead. Also, after I added the tomatoes/spices and cooked them down, I blended the sauce. This gave it the restaurant style consistency I was looking for (before that it looked like salsa soup). After I blended the sauce, I stirred in the cream and put the chicken in and let it simmer slowly for about 10 mins to let the flavors meld together. When it was done, I used the choped cilantro. It was better than the kind I get at my favorite restaurant. Served with homemade naan and jasmine rice. Thank you so much! You gave me what I was looking for and more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Stover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
good! would make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShelleyLynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I made this recipe two ways, 1st way was exactly how the recipe reads. The 2nd was the way the recipe reads, except I used two cans of Campbell's Tomato soup (family size) (for more sauce) instead of using tomatoes and tomato paste, (I doubled all the spices due to additional sauce) I personally like how the tomato soup made this recipe taste creamier, I thought the tomatoes and tomato paste gave the recipe a tangy taste. Both ways are very good!!! I will definitely use this recipe again and depending on what mood I am in (creamy or tangy) will determine how it will be made!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This recipe was so delicious. It is good to know that if I ever were to crave Tikka Masala I do not have to drive over 30 minutes to eat it. Next time, I will try to add more whipping cream etc. for more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Delicious! My boyfriend's parents are from India, he said it tasted like his Mom's cooking. I added an extra green chile because we like it spicy. Watch the video here on AllRecipes about Indian style Basmati rice. First time I got rice to come out perfectly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States