Authentic Bangladeshi Beef Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Decent taste next time I will be sure to switch the cup of water out for coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly K
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Great recipe. I find the recipe a little bit too "tumericy" if that's even a word. I added a little bit of generic "curry powder" into the mix which thickened it up. Also added extra ginger paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Very tasty. I'd recommend quickly searing the beef over a high heat before starting on the onions and setting it to one side until ready to add again. Seared beef adds even more depth to the flavour. If done quickly and evenly, there's no need to clean the skillet before starting on the onions. I couldn't get any chuck from my supermarket, so I had to settle for the leaner braising steak - and thus bumped up the cooking time to 2.5hrs. I had to keep adding a little water, even during the recommended cooking time, to prevent the dish from drying out. The only other change I made was to add a bay leaf, as it's clear the spices in this recipe are cleverly balanced, ending up with a wonderfully deep and rich curry flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt Trow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I've made this several times and it has always been a hit! Don't usually alter the recipe but might add potatoes occasionally to make a bit heartier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Very good! I didn't have quite all the ingredients. I substituted powders where I didn't have fresh, but everything still came out very very good. My wife was out of town. I'll definitely make it again for her. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danley Shackelford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
If only I could rate it more!! My husband and kids were raving about this! The spices were perfect. The only thing I cut back on was that I used 3 serano chiles in place of the 5 chiles they called for, and also added 3 chopped potatos (which I regret now the meat was amazing on its own). Also I served lemon wedges and chopped tomatoes and diced cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Fantastic! I used red chili flakes and Habanero peppers which did not alter the flavor but gave it the heat I was looking for. Thanks for this post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This turned out really dry and practically flavorless except for pepper for me. I'm so bummed 'cause it smelled so good. Clearly I did something wrong, but I'm not exactly sure what, except that maybe 1 hour was too long for me. Also, I prefer more sauce in my curry, so I'd put more water and spice into it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I liked the flavours, but it definitely needed salt. The beef didn't take the flavour on very well either so I may try marinating it for a few hours before cooking next time. Thank you for the recipe. I will try it again with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stay-C

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by forrestang
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I was BLOWN AWAY with this dish-SLOW COOKER VERSION! I cracked the cardamon husks to expose the seeds, and placed them with the cinnamon and cloves into a garlic package for easy removal at the end. I couldn't find ginger paste, so I added about a tbsp of freshly minced ginger root with a few drops of Olive oil. I also couldn't find chile peppers so I used 2 green Serrano peppers. I think I have a decent tolerance for spice, and this was just about the right amount of heat for me. Served with basmati and sweet-cornbread. It was DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States