Authentic Bangladeshi Beef Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe...I didn't have green chilies so I used some jalapenos...didn't have cardamom pods but I used a good size pinch of cardamom powder. Cut back on the cayenne peper (was scared it would be to hot) it was a mild medium heat. Perfect for me...Super yummy..my family loved it! Will make again for sure! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This is a very good dish. I didn't alter it that much and it is definitely a keeper. I like lots of flavor, so I tend to interpret teaspoons as largely heaping teaspoons for spices. I used a little over a pound of beef, heaping teaspoons of cumin, corriander, and turmeric, as well as minced fresh garlic (no powder required)I used the cardamom and cloves as listed, about 1 tbsp of minced ginger, and a 2 inch piece of cinnamon. I used two extra large jalapenos, which were plenty. Cayenne/red chili powder is only needed to taste depending on how spicy the peppers are and how much you can handle. Beef dishes tend to need to be cooked for 3-4 hours to be cooked properly until tender. Potatoes can also be added to this dish towards the end of cooking. I served with basmati rice and homemade naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I really lovd this, although the meat wasn't as tender as I would have liked. Next time I'll simmer at least 2 hours. I halfed the cayenne and it was still pretty spicy for us and we like heat! I added an extra cup of water and about two cups of cubed potatoes the last 30 minutes. :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by FrancesC
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
This was terrific. I used about half a jalapeño instead of the Thai chiles; the dish has a really nice mix of warm heat from the cayenne, and a more biting heat from the fresh chile. I omitted the garlic powder and added a few good healthy pinches of salt at the end of the cooking time. Oh, and I only used two tablespoons of oil to caramelize the onions—I used half mustard oil and half canola. We had this with basmati rice and garnished it with chopped cilantro. Next time, I'd also serve it with some sort of cooling raita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrancesC

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Great recipe. Very authentic. The only thing I added was some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inajakobs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Excellent! I threw the meat, potatos and some winter squash in the crock pot with onion and 3 cloves of garlic, added about 1/2 c of water, as well as cloves, cardamom and cinnimon sticks. About 2 hours before serving, I grated 5 more cloves of garlic heated it in the oil with the other spices, which was increased to 1/2 Tbs each. Added salt to taste. Served with Roti Bread and it was wonderful!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2009
I used 2 Serrano chilies instead of the others and I omitted the cayenne. It was spicy enough that way. I used about 1/2 c. more water as I made it in a Dutch oven and the first cup of water evaporated quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Pefect Bangladeshi Beef Curry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Super Yum! Just added a little extra chili powder b/c we like it hot-will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I placed cut all ingredients in a large baggie the night before and the next morning I put it in the crockpot with 1/2 cup of beef broth on low setting for 6 hrs and it came out excellent! I did not use any oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States