Authentic Bangladeshi Beef Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by FrancesC
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
This was terrific. I used about half a jalapeño instead of the Thai chiles; the dish has a really nice mix of warm heat from the cayenne, and a more biting heat from the fresh chile. I omitted the garlic powder and added a few good healthy pinches of salt at the end of the cooking time. Oh, and I only used two tablespoons of oil to caramelize the onions—I used half mustard oil and half canola. We had this with basmati rice and garnished it with chopped cilantro. Next time, I'd also serve it with some sort of cooling raita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrancesC

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2009
I used 2 Serrano chilies instead of the others and I omitted the cayenne. It was spicy enough that way. I used about 1/2 c. more water as I made it in a Dutch oven and the first cup of water evaporated quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This is a very good dish. I didn't alter it that much and it is definitely a keeper. I like lots of flavor, so I tend to interpret teaspoons as largely heaping teaspoons for spices. I used a little over a pound of beef, heaping teaspoons of cumin, corriander, and turmeric, as well as minced fresh garlic (no powder required)I used the cardamom and cloves as listed, about 1 tbsp of minced ginger, and a 2 inch piece of cinnamon. I used two extra large jalapenos, which were plenty. Cayenne/red chili powder is only needed to taste depending on how spicy the peppers are and how much you can handle. Beef dishes tend to need to be cooked for 3-4 hours to be cooked properly until tender. Potatoes can also be added to this dish towards the end of cooking. I served with basmati rice and homemade naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Absolutely amazing flavours and melt in the mouth goodness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Quite tasty. Best as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Great recipe. Very authentic. The only thing I added was some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inajakobs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Good Hotness and Basmati makes a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I really lovd this, although the meat wasn't as tender as I would have liked. Next time I'll simmer at least 2 hours. I halfed the cayenne and it was still pretty spicy for us and we like heat! I added an extra cup of water and about two cups of cubed potatoes the last 30 minutes. :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This curry did not work for my family, did not like the overall taste at all, all I could taste was Turmeric. I really think this needs to be reduced by at least 1/2 to allow the other flavors to come through. Glad I tried this recipe, but I will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe...I didn't have green chilies so I used some jalapenos...didn't have cardamom pods but I used a good size pinch of cardamom powder. Cut back on the cayenne peper (was scared it would be to hot) it was a mild medium heat. Perfect for me...Super yummy..my family loved it! Will make again for sure! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States