Authentic Bangladeshi Beef Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I did not enjoy this recipe at all. I felt it was bland. Not sure why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Very flavourful, and tastes almost as good as the curry my Bengali friend makes. That's why it's only a 4. But it's better than i can come up with on my own. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Interesting recipe ~ I made this when running short on time for making family dinner. I used my pressure cooker and had it on the table in 35 minutes. I made it with all the ingredients listed and then put my own spin. I added on rib of celery, 1/2 red bell pepper. Then slightly thicken the juices at the end to give it body. The family absolutely love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I cooked this yesterday and ate it today, it was bang on, I dry roasted the coriander and cumin seeds, 2 cloves about 8 black peppercorns and blitzed to a powder thats all I changed next time though I will add some potato but this was lovely I would say the best Beef curry I have cooked as I dont like coconut milk, yoghurt and tomatoes in my indian curry this was perfect very simple and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aimeelynn
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This really good, I doubled the sauce so we could have more, did steps one and two, and then put it all in the crockpot for about 7 hours on low. The meat was really tender (even for stew beef) and the sauce had great flavor, though it was really spicy, even for spicy food lovers. I also added some spinach and left over mashed potatoes at the end which made for a nice consistency, and served with peas and corn. My husband had his over rice, I ate quinoa, and both worked nicely. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I changed a lot of the recipe due to the length of prep. Most notably I used stew beef instead of regular beef. I didn't use cardamom and I used jalapeno slices instead of green chilies. I used beef stock instead of water and added more of it so that it would submerge the beef and the potatoes I added. I basically threw it all in the crock-pot and cooked it on low for about 9 hours, which unfortunately was too long for the stew beef. However, flavor wise, it seemed like something was missing. I don't know if I'd eat this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
this was delicious! We are big fans of curries, and this was simple to prepare, used ingredients I had on hand, and tasted great. I used sirloin (the result of sending the hubby out for chuck roast), and omitted the fresh chilis: I substituted a good pinch of cayenne. Next time, I'll use at least one chili and chuck roast. Served with plain broccoli and basmati rice---thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I followed this recipe just as written, except that at the point when it says to simmer the beef with the spicy paste mixture, I put these elements into a slow cooker for 4 hours. The recipe turned out great -- fragrant and delicious. I served over Jasmati rice, with a light dusting of salt as a finish. Next time, I will up the spice level (perhaps by adding more cayenne pepper and minced hot peppers). Also, I may make the spicy paste mixture a day in advance, so that the beef can marinade in it overnight before going into the slow cooker (the lovely flavor of the spicy paste mixture did not quite penetrate each piece of beef, even after cooked slowly for a long time). Thanks to the author for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I was looking for a non-traditional crock-pot recipe for stew beef and this fit the bill. With the crock-pot I added everything but the oil and powdered spices right away. I didn't have hot peppers or garlic on hand so instead used green chili paste and used beef broth instead of water. Another reviewer added the powdered spices (cooked in the oil) about 1-2 hours before it was done and I did the same. I'm really pleased with how this came out and it was super easy to prepare. The only thing I would do differently next time would be to add some veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Needs salt and more cooking time, mine took about 3 hours until it was tender. Overall it was very easy to make but I don't know if I will make this again. It wasn't bad but there are better curry recipes on this site that taste better in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States