Authentic Bahamian Peas and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
This is not Bahamian peas and rice. A Bahamian would never ever ever add corned beef to peas and rice. And although brown rice may be healthier, it is not suitable for Bahamian peas and rice at all! This recipe is not authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
No Bahamian I know use ham or corned beef - not sure where u got this recipe bit not from a 'true, true Bahamian! One star as rating is required MG
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
As I recall from our trip to Nassau in the early 90's, the peas and rice on the Sea Island Adventure was done in a light, but spicy tomato sauce with fish. The crew did the fishing on the trip for the next day's lunch. They said they were catching Wahoo. I don't think the spices in this recipe are the ones in the recipe we ate that day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Ok I think the cornbeef must have been a misprint. OMIT the cornbeef and you've got yourself a very rich and yummy peas and rice! The browning sauce gives a darker colour,but if its hard to find just get a really thick tomatoe paste eg.Hunts.I don't like my peas and rice too dark.Its prettier when its rosy brown and you can actually see the peas,bacon,thymme etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This is not an authentic Bahamian recipe. I did not try it so I do not know if it is good or not. I will however say that it should not be misrepresented as a typical Bahamian preparation for one the country's most loved dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Never having been to the Bahamas I cannot vouch for the "authenticity" but I thought this was a pretty good recipe. It looked gorgeous while cooking! I was making this as a companion to jerk pork, but needed to also satisfy my vegetarian friends, so I eliminated all the meat. I also didn't know what browning sauce was so I threw in some soy sauce. It turned out pretty good. I think the bacon probably would have added some body to the flavor but it was still a hit. The coconut milk is a must! Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishEyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This is ridiculous! I don't know anyone in the Bahamas who cooks Peas 'N Rice this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Hi! My husband and I were fortunate enough to spend the winter on our sailboat in the Exumas. We ate a LOT of peas and rice. This recipe doesn't sound like anything we ate (except for the peas, rice , and tomatoes - oh, yes - lots of fresh thyme for sale at the produce market in Nassau!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
We do not use corned beef I don't know where that came from It is called salt beef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
This is not real Bahamian peas and rice. No real Bahamian puts cornbeef in their peas and rice. if they did the food wouldn't cook properly and the meal itself wouldn't taste good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States