Authentic and Easy Shrimp Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I posted this recipe, I just wanted to let everyone know that curry powder is NOT the same thing as curry leaf. If you don't have the curry leaf, just leave it out, don't substitute with curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This is such a delicious and easy recipe! My husband (who is Indian) loved this dish and said it tasted very authentic. In fact, he loved it so much he asked me to make the same curry the following day but with chicken. I did and that was also wonderful! Another reason I love this recipe because shrimp is rather expensive so you can easily substitute this with chicken. We wnjoy it with Paratha's(Indian flat bread). I followed the recipe exactly except omitted the curry leaves but the Garam Masala is a must at the end. The extra flavor after the seasoning makes a big difference in the authentic taste.(in my opinion) Thanks for the wonderful recipe! This will be a regular dish in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This recipe is really good. My family is Indian and everyone loved it. As ginger other reviewers said, instead of using garlic paste I used 1 tablespoon minced garlic and 1 teaspoon minced ginger. I also increased the chili pepper to 1.5 teaspoons and salt to 1 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
The dish turned out pretty well, I used a can of diced tomatoes in place of the tomato because they're pricy this time of year. Next time I'd use just a pound of shrimp - it's also pretty expensive, and I like a more equal tomato-to-shrimp ratio. This dish could hold it's own if it were served as one of three or four for a meal. Given the amount of fluid in the dish, you'll want to add extra pepper if you like it hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This was easy and quite tasty. Only substitution I made was Madras curry powder for the curry leaves, which are hard to find here. This one's definitely a keeper! Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
Yummy. Even my husband liked this one, and he doesn't normally like curries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
SOOO good. EASY! Substituted powder curry for the leaves. Loved this! Smells and tastes wonderful with all of the spices! WOW! A little kick, but not horribly spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
We love this recipe so easy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
This was delicious!! I did not use the curry leaves and used parsley instead of cilantro. Served it over Jasmati rice and would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I have made this 3 times now and every time it gets better and better. This truly is an easy recipe which is a good thing since I had never cooked Indian before! Each time I've made this I noticed I put more and more spice in it, and the flavor gets more and more amazing! I've also added a dollop of plain greek yogurt at the end to make the sauce a bit thicker which gave it a nice tang! This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States