Authentic and Easy Shrimp Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
This tasted amazing and was so easy! I had to make some adjustments based on the ingredients I had available in the kitchen. Instead of fresh shrimp, I used a 1 lb. bag of small frozen salad shrimp and it worked perfectly. I added less water because I put the shrimp in the pan still frozen. I replaced the garlic/ginger paste with fresh minced garlic and ginger and the tomato with a can of diced tomatoes. I didn't measure the spices out, and probably ended up using more than the recipe called for. This is a wonderful recipe that I highly recommend trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
This tastes awesome! I omitted curry leaves since I didn't have any on hand. I also used frozen, cooked shrimp (after thawing and removing tails), and reduced cooking time after adding shrimp. I served this with the Indian style basmati rice recipe. This definitely tastes authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This was easy and quite tasty. Only substitution I made was Madras curry powder for the curry leaves, which are hard to find here. This one's definitely a keeper! Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
SOOO good. EASY! Substituted powder curry for the leaves. Loved this! Smells and tastes wonderful with all of the spices! WOW! A little kick, but not horribly spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
This was delicious!! I did not use the curry leaves and used parsley instead of cilantro. Served it over Jasmati rice and would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
We love this recipe so easy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
Yummy. Even my husband liked this one, and he doesn't normally like curries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
The dish turned out pretty well, I used a can of diced tomatoes in place of the tomato because they're pricy this time of year. Next time I'd use just a pound of shrimp - it's also pretty expensive, and I like a more equal tomato-to-shrimp ratio. This dish could hold it's own if it were served as one of three or four for a meal. Given the amount of fluid in the dish, you'll want to add extra pepper if you like it hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
hot--hot--hot--thats the way it should be,,...sounds easy to prepare..will do so for tomorrow's meal..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNWALTERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lexington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-69 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States