Authentic and Easy Shrimp Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This recipe is really good. My family is Indian and everyone loved it. As ginger other reviewers said, instead of using garlic paste I used 1 tablespoon minced garlic and 1 teaspoon minced ginger. I also increased the chili pepper to 1.5 teaspoons and salt to 1 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
My family really enjoy this dish. It's very quick and easy. Don't let all the spices scare you. The curry leaves really are a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This turned out well, but not great--probably because I had to make some adjustments. I used curry powder instead of curry leaves and tumeric. And I didn't have garam masala or coriander powder. But it still turned out as a nice spicy dish, just missing something--I'm sure these ingredients would make a difference. I am going to find a better spice selection somewhere and try it again. Nice and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temperance, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This is such a delicious and easy recipe! My husband (who is Indian) loved this dish and said it tasted very authentic. In fact, he loved it so much he asked me to make the same curry the following day but with chicken. I did and that was also wonderful! Another reason I love this recipe because shrimp is rather expensive so you can easily substitute this with chicken. We wnjoy it with Paratha's(Indian flat bread). I followed the recipe exactly except omitted the curry leaves but the Garam Masala is a must at the end. The extra flavor after the seasoning makes a big difference in the authentic taste.(in my opinion) Thanks for the wonderful recipe! This will be a regular dish in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
this recipe was great! i love making it for company cause it's soo easy and everyone loves it. my husbands from india and says its one of the best shrimp currys he s had. its on permanent rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Ghose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dobbs Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This was very easy to make, and sooooo great. The flavor wasn't too spicy for the little ones and was still great for the adults. I love spicy food, but not everything has to be HOT, this is a great recipe...we are making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by highvoltagegrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
MY SO and I enjoyed this recipe ALOT!!. I could not find ginger garlic paste, so I did as other reviewer's: added 1 tbspn of crushed garlic and 1/2 tspn of ginger. I also did not use garam masala in my recipe. I too used a can of crushed tomatoes and frozen raw shrimp. The plate was a big hit, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I thought it was just O.K. I did not like the combination of spices that were used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Really, really great! Didn't have curry leaves so I added 1 tsp of curry powder. Didn't have garlic ginger paste, so I added 1Tbsp crushed garlic with 1/2 tsp ginger powder mixed into it. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAPOLIMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
This tasted amazing and was so easy! I had to make some adjustments based on the ingredients I had available in the kitchen. Instead of fresh shrimp, I used a 1 lb. bag of small frozen salad shrimp and it worked perfectly. I added less water because I put the shrimp in the pan still frozen. I replaced the garlic/ginger paste with fresh minced garlic and ginger and the tomato with a can of diced tomatoes. I didn't measure the spices out, and probably ended up using more than the recipe called for. This is a wonderful recipe that I highly recommend trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States