Authentic and Easy Shrimp Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Pretty good, and not too complicated (for Indian food).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBYJI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This was delicious. I had to make some minor changes to adjust to what I had on hand. I used an 8 oz can of tomato sauce instead of the tomato and it worked just fine. To get away with only using 1/2 of a lb of shrimp I added some cooked and diced potatoes and some broccoli florets. I just nuked the potatoes in a little water for about 9 mins or so. In the end I added some more spices because I was scared the potatoes would absorb all of the heat. I didn't have curry leaves but the cilantro was great. I added some squeezed lemon. If I ever find curry leaves I will buy them and try this again. I served this over brown rice and some heated up flour tortillas with butter. Mrdrea says 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This was good. I didn't have curry leaves so I left them out and I didn't have ginger garlic paste so I used minced garlic and ground ginger like another reviewer said. This isn't spicy so it was perfect for my little ones but you could just add more spice for your own plate. Nice to have a new recipe for shrimp that isn't a pasta dish. I love curries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
My family loved this curry. The only changes I made was I didn't have the curry leaves so I added about a half teaspoon of ground curry. I used a can of dice tomatoes. I also removed the shrimp and thickened the sauce with a little cornstarch, then put the shrimp back in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I really liked this recipe and so did my family. I found it somewhat confusing, though. The ingredients called for ground red chile pepper and the directions say add the "chile powder". Not sure if I was supposed to add ground pepper or chile powder. Please advise. After thinking it over, I thought maybe a teaspoon of ground red pepper may be overwhelming- so I added 1/2 of both. It was still delicious, but I would like to make it as intended. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
we both enjoyed this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Penetanguishene, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
My husband thought this was very good, it almost tasted like my mom's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
this was very good. easy to make and delicious with a side of indian spiced rice. followed the recipe with the exception of the tomatoes, i used plain tomato sauce because i detest chunks of tomatoes in my food. i will make this again for sure! thanks RK for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
WE loved this! I threw in some coconut milk - and a lil' spoonful of sugar (shhh! Don't tell my husband). It was great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I LOVE this recipe! It is so easy to make and everyone I make this for absolutely loves it! Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States