Austrian Peach Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2000
wow! I lost this recipe and have been looking for it for years. Thanks Kim for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
my family loved these cookies for christmas they were a huge hit. my only suggestion is to maybe cut the cookie crumbs in half for the filling my family said the flavor was better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BAYBEDAUL
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I LOVE this recipe - for presentation alone it deserves 5 stars! You can see in the picture I submitted that I used gumdrop slices and almond slivers for the leaves and stems. There is a similar recipe on this site that uses butter instead of oil, but I find the butter makes the cookie halves spread too much - I like to use a combination of both. Neither of the fillings are very appetizing to me, so I've been using a chocolate ganache to fill these (2 parts chocolate to 1 part heavy cream). I find this recipe to be a LOT of work - but I really like it for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I have been making these for at least 25 years and I have some tips for those who say the cookie is too dry and tasteless. My original recipe calls for a pastry cream for the filling (yummm!) although I've used peach or apricot preserves mixed with either the cookie crumbes OR Chocolate cookie crumbs for a more realostoc peach pit look. Then, and here is the secret for a luscious tasting cookie. My original recipe called for SWEET VERMOUTH (although you could certainly use peach schnapps), tinted with a drop of red food color and a couple drops of yellow color, or just use a few drops of orange... At least a cup of the liqueur is needed. Now fill both halves of the cookie and put 2 together, then the cookie is gently dropped into the liquid for a FEW seconds, turning so all sides are coated, (brushing them is not enough to make the cookie moist and flavorful). Not too long or they will begin to break apart!! But the flavor added makes them to die for!! Now you can roll them into just plain granulated sugar, as the cookie itself has the color already on it. Perfection!! Enjoy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Amazing. These cookies look like the real thing. I took them to a BBQ and every few minute you would hear someone say oh, they're not real peaches. I used Mint leaves for the stems. I made my own colored sugar by dropping a few drops of food coloring into a cup of sugar and mixing with my fingers..be sure to use a glove or plastic bag over your hand or your hands will be the same color as the sugar. I was a little nervous about the filling but followed the recipe to the letter and it tasted fabulous. After people realized they were cookies they could stop talking about how good they were. I took a photo, I will post soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A & R's Mommy
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
My Brother in Law had the odd request of Austrian Peach Cookies for his birthday dessert which I had never made, seen or tasted before. Since AR had two versions of this recipe with similar doughs, but vastly different fillings, I decided to make both. This recipe was our favorite by far. What made the filling so special was the instant tea powder. I used iced tea powder (in the US, what we Canadians call 'iced tea' you refer to as 'sweet tea'). I photo journalled my process of making the cookies in hopes that they may help out anyone who wants to try this recipe, but might be intimidated by it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A & R's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Was doubtful at first but it turned out great! I changed it based on what i had in the house, rasberry preserves, peach schnapps, instead of tea powder i actually used lemonade powder and it was still good. I also used orange jello for the outside. With more practice it could look more like a peach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
What makes these better is rolling them in peach schnapps instead of brandy. Then roll them in dry peach jello and orange colored sugar. Mmmm... so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Loretto, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Missy T.
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I made these WONDERFUL cookies, However, I changed the filling and the coating on the outside. You can check it on my photos page.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This recipe was given to me by a dear friend years ago, with changes as follows: omit instant tea powder and cinnamon in filling. Brush cookies with oj and peach schnapps, roll cookies in dry peach jell-o. They are wonderful and do have taste with the jell-o!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States