Austrian Peach Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Missy T.
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I made these WONDERFUL cookies, However, I changed the filling and the coating on the outside. You can check it on my photos page.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
What makes these better is rolling them in peach schnapps instead of brandy. Then roll them in dry peach jello and orange colored sugar. Mmmm... so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Loretto, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BAYBEDAUL
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I LOVE this recipe - for presentation alone it deserves 5 stars! You can see in the picture I submitted that I used gumdrop slices and almond slivers for the leaves and stems. There is a similar recipe on this site that uses butter instead of oil, but I find the butter makes the cookie halves spread too much - I like to use a combination of both. Neither of the fillings are very appetizing to me, so I've been using a chocolate ganache to fill these (2 parts chocolate to 1 part heavy cream). I find this recipe to be a LOT of work - but I really like it for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Amazing. These cookies look like the real thing. I took them to a BBQ and every few minute you would hear someone say oh, they're not real peaches. I used Mint leaves for the stems. I made my own colored sugar by dropping a few drops of food coloring into a cup of sugar and mixing with my fingers..be sure to use a glove or plastic bag over your hand or your hands will be the same color as the sugar. I was a little nervous about the filling but followed the recipe to the letter and it tasted fabulous. After people realized they were cookies they could stop talking about how good they were. I took a photo, I will post soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
What did I do wrong? the cookie is sort of dry and tasteless. The filling is good and I added a peach colored butter icing on top of the filling and it helped to hold the 2 cookies together. The decorating with colored sugar and dry jello was fun and worked well. They are pretty, but the cookie isn't very good. Now I am looking for a recipe that will still hold the same shape and taste great. Any ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is one recipe that needs a video to help explain it! How the heck do you make them look like the ones in the photo?!!! Mine were a miserable representation, to say the least :^(. So the 3 rating is for the difficulty in the presentation. However, I really did like the flavor, and would have rated it a 4 or 5 for that! Since others mentioned the cookie was "tasteless", I did add some nutmeg to the dough. I think it tasted great that way. I used peach preserves, since they look like peaches made sense to me! I did use the instant tea as well - peach flavor (it contained some sugar substitute, as I could not find any that didn't have some type of sweetner in it). I also coated the cookies in peach jello, dyed with some red food coloring. I might try these again, but may just give up on making them into "peaches" and just have them as a standard sandwich cookie - unless some other reviewers pass along their tips on how to make them successfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I made this recipe. I would omit the crumbs. I would also use Jello instead of sugar. These are very time consuming. They need to be hollowed out while warm, not cool. My cookies did not look as pretty as the ones in the picture. They also need to be refrigerated.I would not make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
my family loved these cookies for christmas they were a huge hit. my only suggestion is to maybe cut the cookie crumbs in half for the filling my family said the flavor was better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
In over 40 years of baking cookies, this must be one of the most tasteless cookies I have made. I would throw it away but I hate to waste things. Too much trouble for such disappointing results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2000
wow! I lost this recipe and have been looking for it for years. Thanks Kim for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States