Austrian Peach Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Was doubtful at first but it turned out great! I changed it based on what i had in the house, rasberry preserves, peach schnapps, instead of tea powder i actually used lemonade powder and it was still good. I also used orange jello for the outside. With more practice it could look more like a peach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I have been making these for at least 25 years and I have some tips for those who say the cookie is too dry and tasteless. My original recipe calls for a pastry cream for the filling (yummm!) although I've used peach or apricot preserves mixed with either the cookie crumbes OR Chocolate cookie crumbs for a more realostoc peach pit look. Then, and here is the secret for a luscious tasting cookie. My original recipe called for SWEET VERMOUTH (although you could certainly use peach schnapps), tinted with a drop of red food color and a couple drops of yellow color, or just use a few drops of orange... At least a cup of the liqueur is needed. Now fill both halves of the cookie and put 2 together, then the cookie is gently dropped into the liquid for a FEW seconds, turning so all sides are coated, (brushing them is not enough to make the cookie moist and flavorful). Not too long or they will begin to break apart!! But the flavor added makes them to die for!! Now you can roll them into just plain granulated sugar, as the cookie itself has the color already on it. Perfection!! Enjoy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A & R's Mommy
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
My Brother in Law had the odd request of Austrian Peach Cookies for his birthday dessert which I had never made, seen or tasted before. Since AR had two versions of this recipe with similar doughs, but vastly different fillings, I decided to make both. This recipe was our favorite by far. What made the filling so special was the instant tea powder. I used iced tea powder (in the US, what we Canadians call 'iced tea' you refer to as 'sweet tea'). I photo journalled my process of making the cookies in hopes that they may help out anyone who wants to try this recipe, but might be intimidated by it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A & R's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is one recipe that needs a video to help explain it! How the heck do you make them look like the ones in the photo?!!! Mine were a miserable representation, to say the least :^(. So the 3 rating is for the difficulty in the presentation. However, I really did like the flavor, and would have rated it a 4 or 5 for that! Since others mentioned the cookie was "tasteless", I did add some nutmeg to the dough. I think it tasted great that way. I used peach preserves, since they look like peaches made sense to me! I did use the instant tea as well - peach flavor (it contained some sugar substitute, as I could not find any that didn't have some type of sweetner in it). I also coated the cookies in peach jello, dyed with some red food coloring. I might try these again, but may just give up on making them into "peaches" and just have them as a standard sandwich cookie - unless some other reviewers pass along their tips on how to make them successfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This recipe was given to me by a dear friend years ago, with changes as follows: omit instant tea powder and cinnamon in filling. Brush cookies with oj and peach schnapps, roll cookies in dry peach jell-o. They are wonderful and do have taste with the jell-o!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I agree with the reviewer that said these cookies are tasteless. They are dry and taste like flour. I found that only baking them for 8-9 minutes helps. 15 minutes turned mine into little bricks. I'm also having trouble with mine staying together, and I can't get mine to look nice like the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
In over 40 years of baking cookies, this must be one of the most tasteless cookies I have made. I would throw it away but I hate to waste things. Too much trouble for such disappointing results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
What did I do wrong? the cookie is sort of dry and tasteless. The filling is good and I added a peach colored butter icing on top of the filling and it helped to hold the 2 cookies together. The decorating with colored sugar and dry jello was fun and worked well. They are pretty, but the cookie isn't very good. Now I am looking for a recipe that will still hold the same shape and taste great. Any ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Missy T.
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I made these WONDERFUL cookies, However, I changed the filling and the coating on the outside. You can check it on my photos page.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I made this recipe. I would omit the crumbs. I would also use Jello instead of sugar. These are very time consuming. They need to be hollowed out while warm, not cool. My cookies did not look as pretty as the ones in the picture. They also need to be refrigerated.I would not make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make a Cookie Bouquet

Say it with flowers--edible cookie flowers you make yourself!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States