Austrian Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I substituted gluten-free flour for regular flour and plain yogurt for the cream. It worked beautifully! It is really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
It was amazing but we had to cook it for longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This recipe is delicious. Instead of syrup, I warmed apple pie filling to go on top and sprinkled it with cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I didn't think my kids would go for this due to the custard-y texture but they each gobbled down two wedges, and that's saying something since they're all still five and under! Glad the hubby was already gone for work, because between me and my 3 oldest boys we ate the whole thing. :) Baby sat on my lap and longingly wished he was big enough for solids. 'Nuff said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I would make this again if I had cream that I needed to use up, but after trying it I did not consider it worth buying cream for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I made this for my lil girl this morning and it was awesome and it was easy and fast to make me and my lil girl love it !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eloy, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This works great, but agree with readers that have substituted part (or all) of the cream. Might as well cut out a few fat calories if it will still work just as well and taste great. I would also advise, as others have, to add a teaspoon of vanilla and a little grating of fresh nutmeg. Those flavors always enhance and enliven any kind of baked breakfast thing like this. I don't know why anyone would make this expecting it to turn out like a regular pancake and complain about the recipe when it doesn't. It is obviously more of a dutch baby style pancake and it SHOULD have a custardy interior.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
My family made this the other day for a quick brunch, and the general consensus was that we'll definitely make it again! We served it with whipped cream, and that was certainly the preferred topping. We used medium size cast-iron skillets, but had to up the bake time to 45 minutes. I think next time I'll try adding some lemon juice/zest to it, to give it a boost in tang. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
A keeper! used 1T sugar (can use 2T in future), 4 little farm eggs, 1C fat free milk & 1C heavy cream, abt ½ tsp vanilla (will up to 1+ tsp), 1T butter in cast iron pan (will use 2T in future to keep from sticking). Used blender stick to really smooth it out. Cooked for 30 min (ate half which was great also), but went back in for 10 more min & then let set for 5-10 min before serving. Overall, raised perfectly, bubbled a little & then settled down. Excellent. No eggy taste, just pancake with "custardy" body. Will be trying leftovers soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This was good. Made as written except added a tsp of vanilla and cooked it in an oven proof pan- not a cast iron skillet. Middle puffed up about 15 minutes in and was cooked thru about 10 minutes early. I did not need the butter in the pan. Tasted like a giant crepe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States