Austrian Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I replaced the heavy cream with half n half. Very tasty and easy to prepare too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Made this for my inlaws. They all really liked it. I was okay about it...thin crispy edged pancakes are more my speed. If I make it again, which I might just cause it is something different, then I think next time I'll add some cinnamon to the batter, and maybe top it with powdered sugar as others suggested (with more cinnamon!) or another sauce as recommended by others instead of syrup. I think that might tip me more in its favor instead of comparing it with regular pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
So easy and so good. I just add a touch of vanilla extract & top with baked apples in cinnamon & sugar and go to town.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeremy Little

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I substituted gluten-free flour for regular flour and plain yogurt for the cream. It worked beautifully! It is really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
It was amazing but we had to cook it for longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This recipe is delicious. Instead of syrup, I warmed apple pie filling to go on top and sprinkled it with cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I didn't think my kids would go for this due to the custard-y texture but they each gobbled down two wedges, and that's saying something since they're all still five and under! Glad the hubby was already gone for work, because between me and my 3 oldest boys we ate the whole thing. :) Baby sat on my lap and longingly wished he was big enough for solids. 'Nuff said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I would make this again if I had cream that I needed to use up, but after trying it I did not consider it worth buying cream for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I made this for my lil girl this morning and it was awesome and it was easy and fast to make me and my lil girl love it !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eloy, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This works great, but agree with readers that have substituted part (or all) of the cream. Might as well cut out a few fat calories if it will still work just as well and taste great. I would also advise, as others have, to add a teaspoon of vanilla and a little grating of fresh nutmeg. Those flavors always enhance and enliven any kind of baked breakfast thing like this. I don't know why anyone would make this expecting it to turn out like a regular pancake and complain about the recipe when it doesn't. It is obviously more of a dutch baby style pancake and it SHOULD have a custardy interior.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States