Austrian Jam Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by kuratenko
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Good cookies and look very pretty. I suggest you read reviewers' comments in the past carefully before trying out this recipe, especially the tips about how to manage this rather crumbly dough (creaming the dough until fluffy, and if necessary, dip your fingers in milk while shaping). I had quite a hard time shaping the dough because it was quite dry, but the dryness is necessary for the light texture of this cookie. Also, make individual cookie size as small as possible and round (do not flatten it) before baking, because they loosen flat a bit while baking. I will make them again for this Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuratenko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I added nutmeg and cinamon, the cookies were delicious! The dough seemed a bit hard to manipulate though.. might change the recipe a bit next time. ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by x_andy_x

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portneuf, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
These are wonderful. I followed the recipe except I used strawberry jam I made last summer and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This recipe is awesome! We've been testing recipes all week to surprise my mother with her favorite. One of them ended us with one giant cookie! Our first batch was rather large. My advice would be to keep the cookie size to a minumum when inserting in the oven. Great recipe! Thank you so much! I can't wait to see her face when she tries them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
I was happy to find this recipe. They taste great. I only gave it 4 stars because the dough is difficult to work. Thanks to all who gave tips on this. The milk works well. I made these with a Texas twist by using local pecans and Texas Red Plum Jam. About 15 years ago I made these and the jam caught fire in the oven. We've called them cookies flambe ever since and they are a great family tradition. Couldn't get to my recipe this year, and I like this one better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
My grandmother made a cookie just like this when I was a child only she rolled them in chopped walnuts, so I did the same. After reading about other people's trouble with the dough, I was apprehensive. But, if you really cream the butter and sugar and egg until it becomes light and you add the flour mixture slowly, maybe 13 cup at a time waiting until it is integrated, the dough comes out much smoother and easier to work with. Thanks for the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
The dough wasn't thick in texture at all, and I couldn't even get the dough into the shape of a ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
A "bit" of milk on the fingers? I feel that I would have more luck makine pie crust out of this recipe than cookies. Granted, I have not tasted them yet, but they would have to be the best tasting cookies ever to be worth the trouble of trying to get the dough to form balls instead of crumbling away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
This recipe is great!!! The dough was a bit crumbly, but as other reviewers suggested, a bit of milk on the fingers when rolling does the trick! Thankyou for a quick and easy thumbprint recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOFFIFFEEZZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gull Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
I was so excited to find this recipe. I lost my family's original recipe when we were moving. It is perfect and the cookies taste just like the recipe we used to have. The only complaint I have is, they were all gone in a few days! Thank you Carol, you saved our Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States