Austrian Jam Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
The origional Austrian recipe states to roll the cookies into beaten egg whites before rolling in the nuts. I substituted almond extract for the vanilla and also used raspberry jam. The dough like others, was very dry and crumbly even after whipping the butter well. add 1 TBS milk at a time until you get the right consistancy. (I added 2 TBS of milk) and that did the trick. Dough was not sticky and easy to work with. these cookies are meant to be about "bite sized".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Evanston, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
This recipe disappointed me, I found the dough to be very dry and crumbly and didn't work well into balls. It is really to bad, could have been an excellent batch of cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okotoks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Mine were in the oven for 40+ minutes and some were still slightly underbaked. They tasted alright, but probably won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This is a wonderful cookie. Simple to make and delicious. They disappear quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Really great recipe! I used strawberry jam, and the were perfect. My house mates and I all love them. I will definately try them out again and again. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lindsay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
One of my favorite cookie recipes. I didn't have any trouble with the dough, but like another reviewer suggested, I did beat my butter and sugar until light and fluffy. I also decided to add lemon juice and the zest to the dough which gave the cookie a wonderful light lemony flavor. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
The recipe says it makes 3 dozen, but I only got 15 out of it. the cookies were decent. I like mine a little cakier so I put in the whole egg instead of just the yolk the second time I made them. The amout of butter in them was kind of disgusting to me. I think next time I'll just try a sugar cookie recipe and put the jam in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Taylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This is a fantastic cookie! It was pretty easy to make. Delectable! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Ok, first of all, should the butter be cold or room temperature? I used room temperature and the cookie dough wasn't crumbly at all or even difficult to manage. BUT I did find that it didn't make anywhere near 3 dozen cookies. I ended up with 18 or so small cookies, about .5" in diameter balls. Tastes ok, but not quite what I was looking for tonight. Might make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chamomille

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This is my FAVORITE Christmas cookie out of the 30 dozen I do... I always use seedless raspberry preserves! Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States