Austrian Jam Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
My family has made the same recipe for years with a couple of minor changes. Beat the unused egg white slightly then use to dip the balls of dough prior to rolling in the chopped nuts. This keeps the nuts stuck to the cookie. Press a slight indentation into the top then bake half way before adding the jam and returning to the oven. This keeps the jam a brighter red color but dries the jam just enough for cookies not to stick to each other when storing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I will make them again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This was a very tasty recipe. As usual I improvised a little. I found the dough was getting very heavy very fast so I used a tad less flour. To make up for it, I added the finely chopped nuts INTO the dough instead of rolling them on the outside. They got a little flatter than the ones in the picture but they were light, crispy and sinfully buttery. This is definitely going in my little book of favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Good recipe, this was my 1st time making these type of cookies. I am a professional cook, but I am not a terrific baker. Luckily, these are foolproof with very fer ingredients. I made homemade jam a week ago so I used it & it was delish! I slightly under-baked them on purpose, and I did add more jam while they were cooling. I also made a batch in mini muffin pans as an experiment. Came out well too, just use more jam and let them cool completely before removing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Woodstock, New York, USA
Living In: Ellenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I have to agree with others that these cookies crumble apart upon baking. I had no problem rolling them(although it was very labor intensive), so I thought they would turn out. That did not happen. They cracked and split upon baking and jam seeped out all over the cookie sheet and made a mess. Too bad, I was looking forward to these coming out :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
These cookies were the biggest hit at a house concert. They went like hot cakes! You gotta make 'em, but place cookie dough in refrigerator for 5-10 minutes before placing in oven as they will spread out and make a mess. I used parchment paper for easy cleanup, too. As others have suggested, I used the bottle cap to my vanilla to make the impressions, not my thumb. I accidentally overloaded the thumbprint area, but finally got the hang of how much jam to use. Also, I used two different jams, but the raspberry ones went first. Nothing was left and I only got one cookie!! Next time, I'm making a double batch and keeping some for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Gricius-West

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
We loved these cookies! I had to make a second batch the very next day. The rich buttery flavor is addictive and they just disappeared off the plate. To solve the crumble factor mentioned before, I found that chilling the dough for 2 hours was too long and if you just chill it until it forms a ball without sticking to your hand they are very, very easy to make and roll in the almonds. The almonds should be chopped fairly finely. I used a blender and finished them off by hand. Really quick to put together when the dough isn't too cold. To fill the thumbprint, stir your jam and put into a small baggie. Cut a corner of the baggie off and use as a pastry bag. The cookies are filled in no time! I'm definitely adding this recipe to my Christmas Cookie list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
These get a 5 for taste. They're...not exactly difficult to make, but time-consuming. The dough doesn't want to form into balls--it's a shortbread dough, of course it doesn't want to form into balls! It took me an hour to form the dough into balls, poke a teeny tiny hole in it, carefully coax a tiny bit of orange marmalade into that hole, then arrange almonds on the thing. (I didn't roll mine in almonds--I bought the wrong kind of almonds. However, with that said, the reviewer who suggested rolling each ball in whipped egg white is probably spot on--that would help them hold together better and give it a lovely sparkle when it bakes up.) I might make them again, or then again, I might just go back to my usual shortbread jam sandwich cookies. It's a toss-up! Thanks for the recipe, they really are tasty--just a lot of work when compared to other methods of achieving the same thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Ok,so I had to make a recipe from Austria for my history report...I'm not sure what the heck happened,but It turned out to be more of a soup-in-a-pan thing...I couldn't use it,It was truely nasty,but i see it turned out for some people,I guess i must have done something wrong...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNRY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Liberty Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These cookies are absolutely delicious. However, I doubled the recipe thinking it would make 72 cookies and I ended up with 36. Perhaps I didn't make them small enough but any smaller and it wouldn't have been possible to do a thumbprint for the jam. Also, the amount of almonds it called for is way too much. I found I used a third of the amount of almonds as they dont stick to the dough as much as you might think. Finally, the amount of jam the recipe called for is too much as well. You can only put a little dabble of jam in each cookie. They are a bit of work to roll individually, but in the end they are very yummy and festive looking. I will certainly make these over and over!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States