Austrian Chocolate Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
This recipe is awesome! I tried to make these early last week, but I misread the recipe and used too much butter, so I couldn't make them into balls. But then I made these for my boyfriend this last weekend and they turned out perfect. I had to refridgerate the batter for a little while because pouring hot, melted chocolate into dry indgrediants, of course, left it sticky and warm. When properly cooled, the icing won't smear around and you can put them in a lunchbox or even a ziplock bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I made these cookie last night they were ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trcmadera
Home Town: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Ohmigosh! I was recently at a dessert party, and had something similar to these, and came looking on Allrecipes for a recipe for the cookie. Bingo! I found it. These are sooooooo good! I made the first batch as written, then made a second batch in the same bowl--didn't rinse it or anything--and made a second batch, only using mint extract in place of the almond, and vanilla in the glaze. This was because I had a real "mint tooth" going on. (Although I'm not sure if they are still Austrian ;) ) I also replaced the nuts with mini chocolate chips in the second batch. They are sooooo good, too! The glaze seems to stay prettiest if it stays warm. Mine got a bit grainy. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
I wanted to find a new cookie that would be a hit and this is it! I doubled the original recipe and added a few mini-chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
We just made this for my son's class project (had to make something Austrian since he studied Austria). Wow! Easy to make - I supervised my 12 year old and we followed the recipe exactly. Our dough was very dry and I was worried if we had done something wrong. They came out delicious, though! We'll make these again as most of the cookies are going in to his class.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I'll admit, I have not frosted these yet, but I have eaten two of them right out of the oven. VERY rich, almost too rich, and very reminiscent of brownies. I think brownies would have been easier. We'll see how my cookie exchange likes them with the frosting on. That might put them over the edge into 'too righ' for my taste, but a die-hard chocolate buff would really enjoy them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missivy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
great recipe..the chocolate glaze adds a delicious touch..just put waxed paper or paper towel under the cookies after you dip them so they wont drip everywhere!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
I was excited to try this recipe (a fix for my chocolate craving!) after reading the reviews, but this recipes disappointed me. The texture was odd and I just didn't particularly care for the flavor. I ate a couple and tossed the rest...not worth the calories at all : ) Those who like a less sweet, darker chocolate taste may enjoy them, but I certainly won't be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy Cowan
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Ok, I made these into the tiny 3/4 inch balls the recipes calls for and baked them on parchment paper...which means they STAYED little tiny balls after they cooked. I'm sure had I not used parchment, they would have spread a little. They are very cute..but small! The glaze did NOT work for me AT ALL. I ended up melting some chocolate chips with a little shortening and just dipped in that. They came out looking like little chestnuts...very cute for the holidays! :) They taste good too! The not too sweet cookie with the sweet chocolate on top is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
It was either these or brownies, and I'm glad I chose these! The chocolate flavor was just right--my mom said they tasted "gourmet". Definitely a recipe to keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States