Austrian Chocolate Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Not nearly as hard to make as they taste! My husband gives it 4 stars even though he's not a huge chocolate eater- if you are a die hard, super rich chocolate fan, these are amazing and surprisingly quick and easy! The hardest part was making sure they didn't overcook since the cookie dough is so dark. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I_learned_to_cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
The glaze never turns out for me, so I skip it. No one complains. The balls themselves are delicious--not too sweet, but definitely chocolatey. I've (accidentally) made them with the granulated and powdered sugar and both versions are good. The ones with the granulated sugar tastes sweeter, while the one with the powdered sugar taste smoother but less sweet. A great treat to make in very large batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodObsessedMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
We have been making this cookie recipe for the last three years! It one of my husbands favorites. My sister and I have found that you should make one batch at a time instead of doubling. Doubling changes the texture of the dough. Do not try and stretch the chocolate glaze, make more if you are running low (we learned our lesson on this one). To make quicker balls we roll the dough in a snake and then cut equal portions to hand roll in balls. This seems to speed up the process, especially when you are making a lot as we do. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
What fantastic cookies! I used vanilla instead of almond extract but am looking forward to making them again and trying the almond. Super easy to make, very similar to a brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westchester, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
My daughter made this recipe for a school project on Austria. They are delicious! The almond extract adds just enough almond flavor and they are beautiful with their little cap of chocolate icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Was a very good cookie with a brownie texture. We used vanilla extract instead of the almond and pecans instead of walnuts (it's what we had available). The only thing is that it made only 24 cookies, not the 42 noted as # of servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LALAWLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taylor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I'll admit, I have not frosted these yet, but I have eaten two of them right out of the oven. VERY rich, almost too rich, and very reminiscent of brownies. I think brownies would have been easier. We'll see how my cookie exchange likes them with the frosting on. That might put them over the edge into 'too righ' for my taste, but a die-hard chocolate buff would really enjoy them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missivy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
We just made this for my son's class project (had to make something Austrian since he studied Austria). Wow! Easy to make - I supervised my 12 year old and we followed the recipe exactly. Our dough was very dry and I was worried if we had done something wrong. They came out delicious, though! We'll make these again as most of the cookies are going in to his class.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Followed the recipie as is and they turned out great. Wish the recipie made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathlene07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I have been making these chocolate balls for about 6 years, and still make them every christmas. These always taste so good, even if you are not a big fan of dark chocolate. People I know look forward to when I make them, and they NEVER last long. Easy to make, and perfect for a different dessert than your regular cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States