Austrian Chocolate Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I cool the dough for half an hour before baking for bite-size balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I just made these and they're ok. A few modifications to the cookie recipe: I used an 86% cocoa chocolate bar because the grocery store didn't carry unsweetened chocolate. I also halved the sugar (wouldn't have done this if I was using unsweetened chocolate) and split the remaining amount 50-50 between cane sugar and brown sugar. I like the almond taste, but I didn't find the cookies anything to write home about. The glaze recipe, as written, was a disaster. Not sure if it's because it was my first time trying to make glaze, but my first attempt was unsalvageable. Second time around, I melted the butter and chocolate, but then added 1 tbsp of milk before starting to add the sugar. Then I slowly added the sugar and as it would become too thick, I'd add another tbsp of milk. This finally worked for me. Glaze is good, ended with some leftover as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salsera713

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallandale, Florida, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MELRN
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
These are good. I took the advice of previous reviewers and used the mini chocolate chips, but I'm sure they would be just a good with the pecans. Otherwise, made exactly as written. These were easy and I am looking forward to adding them to my annual Christmas Cookie bake. Thinking about a white frosting instead with red/green sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AlonaWi
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Exactly what I wanted for my chocolate craving. Followed the recipe 100% and it did turn out really good. I really like the almond taste of it. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Very easy, great treat. I prepared this without changes and it turned out great. Making two dozen, I took a dozen to my friend down the street. When I got back, my old man had eaten most of the rest! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I cant believe i never rated these. I have been using this recipe for years. They´re really good and pretty foolproof. im usually too lazy to make the glaze and when i do, half of them have been eaten bij the time they´ve cooled down enough. They´re awesome either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I just made these today. The only thing I did differently with a few of them was sprinkle the tops with a teeny bit of salt. Both were really good. Oh...I omitted the walnuts and used imitation almond due to allergies. I would definitely make these again. Super fast, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Although ive had better cookies, this was yummy. Kind of like a brownie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I made these cookie last night they were ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trcmadera
Home Town: Clovis, California, USA
Photo by Judy Cowan
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Ok, I made these into the tiny 3/4 inch balls the recipes calls for and baked them on parchment paper...which means they STAYED little tiny balls after they cooked. I'm sure had I not used parchment, they would have spread a little. They are very cute..but small! The glaze did NOT work for me AT ALL. I ended up melting some chocolate chips with a little shortening and just dipped in that. They came out looking like little chestnuts...very cute for the holidays! :) They taste good too! The not too sweet cookie with the sweet chocolate on top is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States