Australian Damper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Just tried as per directions. Should be noted that you can't construct the structure in a round dome like a cob, but flatter; otherwise you get a lump of uncooked dough in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Jack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
a fun, quick and easy bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This is not a traditional style bread. It was made by our early settlers from whatever they had on hand and could carry on horseback. Don't try to cut this loaf like regular bread, instead pull it apart while it is still warm, put on heaps of fresh butter and golden syrup.......yum. Best cooked over coals in a camp oven, but I make it all the time at home in my regular oven. You can also add grated tasty cheese and sliced olives for a savoury damper. Great at a BBQ. It only keeps a short time though, it is dry and hard the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDRONICKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This recipe was quick and easy- as other did, i added some ingredients for a fresh flavor: garlic powder and rosemary. The only concern is that I can't slice it as it crumbles into little pieces... any suggestions on how to fix that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kings Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
A yummy dense bread. Easy to make and a really nice flavor. I used whole wheat flour and it came out with a really hearty, nutty flavor. Great for a quick nomming snack. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Had to double the butter and add half a cup of milk to get this to form into something besides dry crumbs. I threw it int he oven but I am sure it will just be thrown out when its done, it looks like Ayers rock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara P

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Wiscasset, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Self-rising flour contains salt which may make the bread to salty tasting for some reviewers. I simply omitted the added 1 tsp. salt in this recipe and it came out perfect as far as taste was concerned. I followed the recommended baking time; my loaf was golden brown and the bottom sounded hollow when tapped. After cooling and cutting it, I learned that the inside was far from done and very doughy. We cut of the outer part of the bread and it was wonderful. I will make this bread again, but will bake it longer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I made this in my bread maker. I thought it had a great flavor, but husband said it was too salty. I may cut back on the salt next time to suit his tastes. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Way to salty and bland. With a little less salt it could be used for biscuits to eat with gravy, but sadly I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaHealthNut

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Simple and a GREAT taste, a complete hit with my daughter who can't get enough of it. Sultanas go well in it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States