Australian Damper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2001
Yummy, I am from Australia and have been craving damper for some time. I made it with some meat pies and my whole family loved it! Including the "in laws"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2001
I really didn't care for this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2001
I have varied this recipe by adding a few ingredients of my own. For example today I added 2 cups of grated Cheddar cheese, Some olives, some sun dried toamtoes and then followed the rest of the recipe. Boy was that a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
We liked it. It was a little difficult to get it to slice properly, kinda crumbled a bit. Very tasty, and good because my friend can not have yeast bread and this was a good substitute
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
This was great. It reminds me of Irish Soda Bread without all the fuss. This is made from pantry items you always have on hand. It crumbled a little and wasn't easy to slice, but worth the extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
excellent bread-made it with goat's milk and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
this turned out really well for damper. i like someone else added sundried tomatoes and old cheddar cheese. tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
thank-you so much for submitting this cause its the yummiest thing in the world!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
Tastes good, but I had to cook it for longer than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Yummo!! Damper can also be cooked on the campfire; wrap the loaf in alfoil (tin foil) and cook in hot coals. Use plenty of foil as damper will expand a lot as it cooks, and bury in coals with a shovel. (Is best to use a fire that has died down to just hot coals.) As the submitter said, damper will be cooked when it sounds hollow. If your really keen, wrap a handful of dough around 5-10cm of the end of a clean stick and toast it over the campfire; once cooked, pull it off the stick and fill with honey and butter!!! A bit of trial and error, but good fun and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States