Australian Damper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Simple and a GREAT taste, a complete hit with my daughter who can't get enough of it. Sultanas go well in it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This is a good recipe for a traditional bread rarely seen these days. Be sure to spread lots of Golden Syrup for a real taste of Oz...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
this is best served by the fire (in the bush of course!) with golden syrup and chocolate mushed into it. Shove the dough on the end of a stick and hold it over the fire, this way the outside will be crunchy and the inside will be mushy. Don't forget a beer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Yummo!! Damper can also be cooked on the campfire; wrap the loaf in alfoil (tin foil) and cook in hot coals. Use plenty of foil as damper will expand a lot as it cooks, and bury in coals with a shovel. (Is best to use a fire that has died down to just hot coals.) As the submitter said, damper will be cooked when it sounds hollow. If your really keen, wrap a handful of dough around 5-10cm of the end of a clean stick and toast it over the campfire; once cooked, pull it off the stick and fill with honey and butter!!! A bit of trial and error, but good fun and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
Tastes good, but I had to cook it for longer than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
thank-you so much for submitting this cause its the yummiest thing in the world!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
this turned out really well for damper. i like someone else added sundried tomatoes and old cheddar cheese. tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
excellent bread-made it with goat's milk and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
This was great. It reminds me of Irish Soda Bread without all the fuss. This is made from pantry items you always have on hand. It crumbled a little and wasn't easy to slice, but worth the extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
We liked it. It was a little difficult to get it to slice properly, kinda crumbled a bit. Very tasty, and good because my friend can not have yeast bread and this was a good substitute
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Flatbread

See how to turn water and flour into delicious, super-easy flatbread.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States