Aussie Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I'm glad I tried this! What an interesting and different take on an omelet which, after awhile, always seem to taste the same no matter what "recipe" you choose. Because I was a little nervous about the curry powder (didn't want to take a chance of having to throw a shrimp omelet out if we didn't like it!) I decided to be a wimp and use only half the amount of curry called for. I'm glad I did. It gave it a pleasant nuance of flavor and aroma, but any more and I know it would have been too much for us. The recipe came together perfectly with the prep and cooking method as described.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
Wow, what a nice surprise.. Nice taste, interesting texture! I changed the recipe a little... After the eggs has setup, I put the vegetables in including the tomatoes but not the cheese. I put it in the oven @ 400 (frying pan) for about 20 minutes. Then I put the cheese on top and broiled it for about 5 minutes. Finished up like a caserole. Yum Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
This was a perfect lazy-hungover-sunday meal! Thanks! I wasn't sure about the curry powder but it is a very nice mild flavour! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Delicious! I only used two eggs--single serving--and made ALL the filling with extra shrimp and a handful of fresh spinach, then refrigerated half the filling so I can enjoy for lunch with some pasta or rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
(Even with the additional ingredients, I'm not sure how five eggs can feed four people. I make omelettes with three eggs per serving. Also, who makes omelettes in a suacepan?! Weird). Anyway, I made this for Husband, and was gonna fix myself a regular cheese and onion omelette as I thought the Aussie one would have too much going on. Wrong! The only thing I did differently with mine was to omit the green bell pepper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Delicious as written! I think I'll add more shrimp next time, though, and I'll keep the veggies warm while I'm cooking the eggs instead of removing them from heat completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
just finished making and eating this. wow!! great!! i had to modify because i had no mushrooms or peppers so i just used more shrimp (salad sized) and i added red pepper flakes and sauted the onions garlic and shrimp in a mixture of olive oil and butter and seasoned this w/ seasoned salt, peper, and garlic power. this was a great recipe and only took me about 5 minutes to prepare and took 5 to cook. great high protein low carb meal! great for breakfast lunch and dinner,too. i think i might experiement w/ it some more and will try shrimp and crab or even crawfish or lobster next time. i can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
Whoah!! Was this ever great!! However, this cook had too much wine while putting it together and used cumin instead of curry. Fantastic! Second time I made it I used curry but have decided next time I'll use both - probably 1/2 t. cumin. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
I personally don't eat stuff like this, but my boyfriend loved it!! There was so much stuff inside, it was impossible to fold like an omelet is supposed to be, but he didn't care!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This recipe is amazing! Although, when reading the reviews prior to making it, I had to laugh at how many reviewers apparently cannot read and attempted (or thought the recipe stated) to make the omelet in a saucepan! I hope they cook better than they read ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Baked Denver Omelet

It's baked like a frittata, with ham, bell pepper, onions, and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States