Aussie Lime Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I enjoyed the pie. It is one of my favorites now. Made exactly as the recipe called for. You have to like tart pies and coconut and oats. Which I do. The rest of my family did not like it either the tartness or the coconut in the crust. I froze individual pieces and they defrosted great. The taste was exactly as a fresh piece of the pie. I would give it a 5 rating, but since the rest of the family did not like it I put 4
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Scrumptious and easy to make. Love the coconut in the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I made this for my anniversary and my husband loved it. I baked it for 15 min instead of 20 and the crust and filling were perfect. This is a very quick and easy recipe. I can't wait to try making the crust into cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Very good flavor, easy to mix up. Next time I make this, will try with key lime juice, adjusting the amount so as not to have it too tart. Thanks for the great post Louise!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ilikefrenchies
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This was very good! The ANZAC crust was wonderful! I have eaten the cookies before, and I love them. The filling was very good but a little too sweet so I might cut the sugar a tiny bit next time. It was also a little jiggly when I took it out of the oven so I was worried I did something wrong, but after cooling it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Like a key lime pie with a macaroon crust. YUMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tattoogrl13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sutherlin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Using FAT-FREE sweetened condensed milk didn't compromise the flavor at all! Place a cookie sheet underneath the pie pan as my cookie crust overflowed to the bottom of my oven :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I'm not Australian, but this pie seemed like something I would love. The first time I made this pie, there wasn't a picture and I thought I messed up the crust since it bubbled and covered the top of the pies edges. My husband loved how the crust came out though. It was delicious! My husband said he thought it tasted gormet or like a specialty pie at some fancy restaurant. My husband hates coconut though, so I left out the flakes. I love coconut, so I imagine it would have made the pie even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lostjujubeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This wasn't bad, but not what I was expecting even after reading all the reviews. As you can see from my photo the crust puffed up huge; by the time the thing was out of the oven it was more crust than filling. While the crust was tasty I think it would be better for cookies; once refrigerated overnight it was very difficult to cut. The filling was not bad at all, maybe a little tart. I made it exactly as stated, juicing 2-3 limes and straining them into the measuring cup, and also happened to have lemon peel on hand. I added green food coloring because the yellow didn't look very appetizing. So, the flavor wasn't bad overall, it just looked funny with a huge crust with a little puddle of filling in the middle. Next time I'll use some of the crust dough to make a small pan of cookies for the kids, and the adults can have the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I love Key Lime pie and this was quick and easy to make. Found all the ingredients in the cupboard, no special items needed. I found the crust expanded as it cooked...a bit of overflow. The crust tasted like a coconut/oatmeal cookie. The only comment is the crust is a bit hard to cut. I would probably try pre-cutting it while it is warm next time. I have made it several times and enjoy it each time. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States