Aussie Lime Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2000
I made 2 of these for an Aussie dinner party. It received rave reviews by my 14 women guests and one was Australian. It was easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2001
Absolutely delicious! The crust is wonderful. I served this with a dollop of fresh whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
One of the best pies I have ever made. Not too tart at all and the crust really makes it. My glass pie plate was a bit shallow so I had a small amount of boil over but I used another pie plate and the next time it was fine. This one gets raves and requests for recipes all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
This recipe made me homesick, well the base did. In Australia we use "Golden Syrup, which is a darker syrup than the Karo light. I find it gives the base more taste. You can also use the base recipe for GREAT Aussie Anzac (Australia, New Zealand Army Corps) cookies. Just place a teaspoon of the mixture on a cookie tray 1 inch apart. They get their name because they were sent to the "diggers" soldiers in WW1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
I hve raves over this recipes, I've used this crust for several other pies, they're a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
This was my husband's contribution to dessert for Thanksgiving last year and it will definitely be a tradition in our home from now on! The crust is amazing! Flavorful and just the right combination of chewy and crisp. The filling is tart, not overly sweet like most pies. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
No fault of the recipe, the lime juice I made was just too bitter, as I juiced it (mistakenly) with the skin on. As a result, I used another 1/2 cup of sugar. It was still rather bitter. The crust was unique and delicious, and I know the filling would have been as well. I'll be making this again, with bottled lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
My entire family thinks that this is one of the best pies that we have ever eaten. The crust is worth making to use with other baked cream pies also. I used grated lime since I didn't have any lemon and it tasted great. The green flecks showed in the pale yellow pie though so the lemon peel would definitely look better. My husband is already asking me to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Natick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
Excellent!!!! I made this recipe twice in two weeks, and everyone loves it. However, one suggestion - I thought the baking soda flavor came through too strongly using the recipe, so I halved it in the second pie and that was perfect. Also I never did get the "foamy" result of whipping/stirring the baking soda with the other ingredients listed. Works well with either lemon or lime zest. I think the flavor is best with some whipped topping (Cool Whip) on top. Try it, the crust is excellent and the overall result is addicting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
I made this pie the other night for my family and it turned out to be one of the best pies I've every made! It was so rich, sweet and multi-textured - crunchy and creamy - with that wonderful toasted coconut taste. It was like a big custard filled macaroon cookie. Yumm! The only thing was the prep time was much more than the recipe stated...or maybe I'm just slow. It took me about 45 minutes (or more) prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States