Aussie Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
I've been visiting this website for a long time, but this is my first review. Just had to tell you,found this in the "Daily Recipes" section, took it home and made if for dinner last night. My husband, a former chef, mumbled thru his second bite, "Keeper". High praise indeed! I took advice from earlier reviewers, marinated the chicken in worchester sauce, lime juice and garlic (NOT and optional ingredient in our house), left out the light corn syrup (never use it) and used a good stone ground mustand. Found the "zing" some of the others were looking for. I think the corn syrup is just too much sweet with the honey to stand up to the mustard. Served it over thin spinich noodles, there was no leftover sauce. This is on the menu the next time we entertain. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
467 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elida, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
This is the best recipe that I have made from this site yet. DO NOT USE CORN SYRUP and try to avoid using regular mustard but use dijon. I thought about just buying an already prepared sauce but realized people were raving about it. DON'T CHEAT YOUR TASTEBUDS. Make the sauce..it takes 5 minutes. Avoid use of a ton of pans. I fried the bacon, drained some of the grease, sauted mushrooms in bacon grease, then sauted chicken (seasoned with garlic powder, salt, pepper, onion powder ) in that grease which added extra flavor to the chicken. Pound the breasts (they will cook faster and the bac/mush won't fall off) and make sure they are brown to avoid having to bake longer. This recipe says to bake 15 mins but I took others advice and did 30 to make certain my chicken was cooked all the way. It's safer that way especially if your meat is thick (tastier w/ thin breasts). I think you only need about 1 cup of cheese. Two cups is a bit much (whole bag) for 4 breasts. I made six breasts and I didn't use all my cheese. To avoid cheese from buring you could just add it 15 minutes before taking it out the oven. I baked mine with the cheese on and covered for 15 minutes then added more cheese,uncovered and baked another 15 or so till I knew the meat was done. My picky son rated this a 10. If you are serving guests know their tastes before trying this one but if they like bacon, mush, cheese...go for it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
387 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rolanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
Okay, 5 stars for taste, and 5 stars because we are still alive after eating this "heart attack on a plate" chicken! It WAS delicious though!! My husband raved, and it takes alot for him to rave about something! I halved the recipe, only used a splash of corn syrup though, and didn't have onion flakes so I threw in a dash of onion powder. Also, to me it seems silly to dirty a bunch of skillets when everything is going in one place? So first I sauteed the mushrooms in a large skillet (come on, you have to saute the mushrooms! DONT put them on the chicken raw!) then when they were done, removed with a slotted spoon and fried the bacon. Then removed the bacon and sauteed the chicken breasts in the bacon drippings instead of using additional veg. oil. Voila - only one dirty pan! Oh, I also marinated my chicken beforehand in worchestshire instead of seasoning salt. The halved recipe fit perfectly in an 8x8 pan, still baked for 15 min. Even though this is fattening, it definitely could be a company dish because it serves very nicely, just make sure you know your company's palates before making it. Also, you could sub. a jar of already made honey mustard sauce instead of making your own to save some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
299 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
This was beyond excellent! I didn't think it sounded too good, but since I had all the ingredients on hand, I took my chances and my husband is still raving about this dish! I marinated the chicken first all day in equal parts worcestershire and Wish Bone Italian dressing with a chopped clove of garlic, then followed the recipe and it was tender and flavorful. I also browned the chicken in the bacon drippings instead of oil. I also used two extra slices of bacon and used cheddar cheese instead of the cheese called for in the recipe. I was surprised at how nicely the flavors blended in this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
Just remember to pound/flatten the chicken or else everything falls off! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
While I thought that this recipe tasted wonderful, I thought that the 'Alice Chicken' recipe I found on this sight was basically the same, easier to make, and tasted better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
Good, easy and very rich. I omitted the corn syrup and sprinkled the chicken w/season salt before browning. Next time I would half the sauce ingredients.I love cheese but I would only use 1 cup 2 was just too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
Everyone loves this recipe when I make it. The only change I made was that I sautee the mushrooms in olive oil, parsley, and minced garlic before topping the chicken with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
Great dish. Easy to do also. I grilled my chicken breast till browned, used honey mustard instead of making it. After I took out the bacon I stir-fried the mushrooms(2 cups). Dumped that over breasts and topped with jalapeno jack cheese. Served diced avacado on top with a fresh rosemary sprig in the garlic potates.Whoa baby!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dannypetsis
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
I used Turkey bacon for a more crisp taste. The chicken was very tender and moist, then you have the turkey bacon which is very tasty and crisp. The combination is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,931) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Aussie Chicken

Saucy baked chicken with cheese and bacon.

Alice Chicken

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States