Aussie Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Jeff797
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I have been a little hesitant to make this recipe the last month, and now I feel very foolish. I made the small change by omitting the colby-jack Monterey cheese, as I feel cheese usually either makes or breaks a dish for me. That being said, the honey and mustard sauce was phenomenal, and I thought it was clever. I thought the smell from the mustard was overpowering when making it, but after tasting the sauce, my mind was blown. Tasted sweet and savory, and worked perfectly with the chicken. The bacon added a nice crunchiness to the chicken being so tender. Sautéed mushrooms always goes extremely well with chicken in my opinion. And I sautéed some seasoned asparagus in vegetable oil. I also omitted the corn starch, and added extra honey. Spectacular dish, and I will make it over and over again! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff797

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
It was ok but not 813 calories worth of ok. I followed some suggestions by other reviewers, i.e; sautéed my mushrooms and chicken in the bacon renderings which definetley added flavor to the dish but as suggested by others, cooking for 30 mins instead of 15 was way too long. My chicken was dry and overlooked. Such a shame as I had eaten very minimally during the day to save up for this very calorie hefty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I am reviewing THIS recipe exactly as written. My family all liked it. My only negative was that after cooking the dish & letting it stand until it had cooled a bit, a lot of juice had accumulated in the pan. I will definitely make this again, but next time & I will thicken the juices to make a sauce for serving, and I will sauté the mushrooms & leave out the corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
5 stars with a few modifications. I used dijon mustard instead of yellow. I omitted the corn syrup like many others had recommended. I only used about 3/4 cup shredded cheese. Really simple to make. My husband grunted "Mmmm, this is good!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Very moist and easy to fix. I omitted the corn syrup and salt added avocado and lemon zest. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darri Cadwallader

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I loved this! I am a diabetic so I cut down the amount of honey and dropped the corn syrup altogether. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Fantastic! I followed other comments and left out the corn syrup and used dijon mustard in place of yellow. I fried two slices of bacon for each chicksn breast. In the same pan I browned the chicken breasts and transferred to the 9X13. Then sauteed the mushrooms to complete. About 15 minutes in the oven to melt the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Nobody liked it, and I'm a good cook. Not often do we all dislike a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
OOOhhhh! So good! The only thing I changed was in the method. We prefer chicken to be more on the done side, so I cooked the chicken in the skillet as directed, and placed it in the oven with the sauce. While the skillet was still hot, diced the bacon and cooked it with the mushrooms, in the oil the chicken was cooked it. When it was ready, added it to the chicken already in the oven. It was perfect! Served it with mashed potatoes and asparagus. Restaurant quality meal, with a cooked at home price tag!! Definitely adding this to the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,977) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Aussie Chicken

Saucy baked chicken with cheese and bacon.

Alice Chicken

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States