Aussie Beef and Peppers with Gnocchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This dish was very bland. Others did warn about that and I should have taken thier advice. The steak needs to be seasoned prior to cooking it. Will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Windsor, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Enfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This was my first time making gnocchi, but I don't like the kind with pesto, so I was happy to find this recipe. It was so good I was literally licking my fingers! ( and also, my fingers somehow got into it) However I did substitute a small pot roast which I cut into slices instead of the steak, because I literally ruin every steak I make. It worked though! Easy weeknight recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I used green peppers instead of red and yellow because they were way too expensive, but it still turned out great. I won't make this with gnocchi again, it was just too plain... I'll probably try what another reviewer suggested and use egg noddles instead. Other than the tasteless gnocchi, this recipe was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Not crazy about the gnocchi, would try broad egg noodles next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
No doubt this needs salt ‘n pepper, but sometimes it is possible to rush things and this is one of those times. The quick cooking process doesn’t allow the flavors time to come together so the end result is very bland. I tossed everything back in the skillet (minus the gnocchi), added a little water and let it simmer with a covered lid for about an hour. The added cooking time really enhanced the flavor making it more like a pepper steak and the meat was nice and tender. If I were doing it over, I would start by browning the meat, add all of the ingredients except the gnocchi and simmer in a covered pot for at least an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Great tasting dish. I followed the recipe but substituted or omitted a few things using what I had on hand. It turned out great and can't wait to eat the leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjw11

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stoystown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
i loved it this was my first recipe that i have actual did by myself but it was great i changed it up a bit i added cayenne pepper instead of the paprika for a little hot zang and i couldnt find the gnocchi so i add a differnt pasta but other then that it was great i loved it thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thrillz37
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Gnocchi is such a bland pasta, I was looking for a good recipe to help liven the taste. This dish did not do that. It wasn't terrible, I'm just realizing gnocchi isn't the easiest or tastiest pasta to work with. Though, this recipe would probably work great with tortellini
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by add_chase

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Very bland. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
We really enjoyed this dish. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacydross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Gnocchi I

See how easy it is to make amazing potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States