Aush (Afghani Chili) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Awesome recipe. Would be good with egg noodles instead of fettucine. Smells great while cooking and tastes just as good! Thanks for this unique, yummy one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Easy, yummy, healthy. Works well in the crockpot - just brown the hamburger first. As already noted, there is a recipe on allrecipes for "easy garam masala" if you don't have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This was excellent, but I think only because I reduced the red pepper flakes to 1/2 tsp - more than that would have made this way too spicy. I used ground turkey, doubled the garlic, used fresh chopped spinach and a half package (about 8 oz.) of whole wheat fettucini. I didn't stir in the sour cream but rather just add a dollop when serving. Oh, and because I didn't read through the recipe, I just added the pasta to the meat/tomato mixture and let it cook that way so I had to add a cup of water to have enough liquid to cook the pasta. Really enjoyed this! A little exotic, very filling and relatively quick and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Nice and spicy, just the way we like it. Very aromatic as it's simmering those 3-6 hours...and it tasted as good as it smelled. Thanks for the recipe...I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Really delicious. I used the recipe for easy garam masala from this site and it was delicious. I also added a tin of tomato paste and a cup or so of corn for personal taste. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I didn't have the time to simmer for quite as long as the recipe called for, and I didn't have mint in the house, so I would like to try it again, but it was excellent!!! I was leary about the amount of cumin, because I really don't like cumin, but I added the full amount and was very impressed. Easy dish to make and extremely flavourful. I definitely recommend it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
We really liked this very different dish. I followed the recipe except I used ground turkey, added salt and served it over basmati rice. Interestingly, I "Googled" Aush and learned that this is pretty close to the real deal. All recipes called for pasta rather than rice, but since we prefer rice with this flavor combination, that's what I used. Maybe next time I will go with pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
The recipe was delicious. I followed it just as it is on here, except I added chopped cabbage (since I had half a head in the fridge) and about a tablespoon of brown sugar since it came out a tad bit spicy from the peppers flakes. It turned out delicious with a hint of sweet and spicy and YUM... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelscry85

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
It desperately needed salt and I made my own garam masala from this site, which I had to omit the cloves (allergic) and cardamom. I also added 2 cans of garbanzo beans because I LOVE them. It was incredibly awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellina124

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Such a great stew and a fun change from traditional ground beef dishes. The only modifications I made were to use 2 cans of garbanzo beans, and slightly less cumin - 1 1/4ish tbsp. Great flavor, no need for salt to please our palates. We ate it over orzo, with a dollop of sour cream stirred in. Perfect leftovers too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States