Aush (Afghani Chili) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I don't normally like chili.....but this was awesome. I served it with store bought garlic naan. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom_of_2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
It had too much nutmeg. Possibly made the wrong way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
The unique taste was wonderful. I substituted basil for mint and let it simmer 3 hours. It made a lot more than 6 servings but I'm not complaining. Thanks so much for sharing such a great recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Steinberg
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This was OK, and the mint made it "interesting," and the garam masala lent an Indian taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Awesome Recipe! Read multiple reviews and decided to stick to the recipe as written as far as ingredients and measurements. Only change I made was start is all in one pot; browned ground tukery, onions and garlic 1st then added all the other ingredients. Then transferred to a slow cooker for 4+ hours on low and served over rice with sour cream on the side. Loved the flavor combinations. Thanks Bonnie C ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
yum! great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel.castlen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Such a great stew and a fun change from traditional ground beef dishes. The only modifications I made were to use 2 cans of garbanzo beans, and slightly less cumin - 1 1/4ish tbsp. Great flavor, no need for salt to please our palates. We ate it over orzo, with a dollop of sour cream stirred in. Perfect leftovers too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This was excellent, but I think only because I reduced the red pepper flakes to 1/2 tsp - more than that would have made this way too spicy. I used ground turkey, doubled the garlic, used fresh chopped spinach and a half package (about 8 oz.) of whole wheat fettucini. I didn't stir in the sour cream but rather just add a dollop when serving. Oh, and because I didn't read through the recipe, I just added the pasta to the meat/tomato mixture and let it cook that way so I had to add a cup of water to have enough liquid to cook the pasta. Really enjoyed this! A little exotic, very filling and relatively quick and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Pretty good. I thought it was a tad spicy for us; I'd cut back on the red pepper next time. I also thought the chili powder and cumin overpowered the other spices, so I'd cut those down and increase the garam masala and the mint. I love mint in meat dishes, and added some fresh at the table, but I thought it still needed more. A very interesting variation on chili; thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I thought this was really good and not overly spicy. I added extra garlic and used egg noodles. I'd consider making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States