Aush (Afghani Chili) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Wow! I like exotic food, but even this seemed like it would be strange/intriguing to me. I followed the recipe faithfully (except for mint which I could not get), and it turned out very well. An unusual combination of flavors that works quite well. Yes, it is spicy. As a person who loves spicy food I thought it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Terrific! Looked, smelled, and tasted wonderful. Used ground turkey. Didn't bother with pasta or rice. Didn't need it. Tried a dollop of plain Greek fat-free yogurt with it to replace sour cream. This was a nice extra. Also added a second can of garbanzo beans. Husband loved it. Will make again. Thank you Bonnie C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I really, REALLY liked this. I made it almost exactly as written, except (1) used 2 cans of chickpeas, because we love them; (2) increased red pepper flakes to 1 tablespoon, because we like spicy; (3) added 2 teaspoons of salt, because other reviewers said it needed that; and (4) used fresh spinach instead of frozen, and didn't add it until the end of cooking time, because I didn't want it to turn to mush. I used my slow cooker for this (6 hours on Low). It smells heavenly while it's cooking, and tastes every bit as good. One change I would make ... I think this has too much pasta, and I'd cut it back to 6-8 ounces next time (and there will definitely be a next time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This was definitely different but very good. Followed the recipe exactly. We are not big salt lovers but we did add a little to our individual plates. I want to make this again with ground turkey, more beans and more spinach. We liked it a lot with the fettucine and it tasted great as left overs too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This is yummy. Made some adjustments for what I had on hand. Added garlic powder (no fresh), commercial garam marsala, no cumin so I subbed whole coriander. Used home cooked garbanzos (so was probably a few more than in the original recipe), and fresh spinach (cause I needed to use it up. Cut back on the crushed red pepper as we don't do spicy. Served over whole wheat egg noodle (Red Mill)...great for a cold day in January...ooops forgot to mention did it on top of the stove...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I liked this but would make a few changes next time. I would have liked more exotic taste. Modifications this time: 1) Used mostly ground lamb with only a little bit of beef 2) Used fresh mint rather than dried 3) Made it all in one pot, then transferred to the slow cooker after the browning parts of the recipe 4) Served with egg noodles 5) Added a bunch of much-needed SALT 6) Added a can of kidney beans in addition to the garbanzos Next time I will: 1) Use less chili powder--I feel like it overwhelms the middle eastern spices and makes it taste like American chili 2) Up the garam masala or add nutmeg for the same reason 3) Garnish with fresh mint
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Love this chili. It is easy and delicious and gets high marks from my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Coco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Delicious! Very flavorful and just the right amount of kick for us. I did make a couple of changes. I used methi leaves in place of mint, fresh spinach instead of frozen, and I cooked it for only two hours since my husband was hungry and the amazing smell wasn't helping his patience. We both agree this recipe is a keeper and I can't wait to eat the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This was good but a little too spicy for me, I would cut the red pepper a little unless you really love heat. It also needed some salt. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I don't normally like chili.....but this was awesome. I served it with store bought garlic naan. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom_of_2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States