Aunty Pasto's Seafood Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
This recipe just did not do it for me or my guests. One reviewer suggested using Cream of Shrimp soup instead of mushroom soup. I thought, seafood lasagna...shrimp soup, makes sense. I also sauteed the mushrooms ahead of time to cut down on the excess moisture. The moisture level was fine but for some reason, this recipe just didn't have the rich, creamy flavor I expected. I think next time, I'll use a home made cream sauce instead of a canned cream soup. Oh, and if you use no-boil lasagna, be sure you put some of the sauce on the bottom of the pan and not oil the pan as the recipe indicates. The oil will make your noodles crunchy with the no-boil variety. BTW, I even used lump king crab meat in this recipe. I had leftovers and no one wanted them. I really think the cream of shrimp soup was the culprit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Locust Grove, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tahlequah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I tried this recipe for a get together. I used 2lbs of crab mean, ricotta instead of cottage cheese, and two eggs. I also used Italian shredded cheese between the layers and added it on top. I put fresh parsley on top for garnish. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie M.

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Very tasty! I mixed the cream cheese, cottage cheese, egg, basil and salt & pepper in my food processor. Came out really smooth. Will make this again! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Was good, substituted ricotta for the cottage cheese and used three layers of 9 noodles total. I didn’t put the cheddar on top, instead just melted Parmesan only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LobsterClaws

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This was a great tasting lasagna but was it runny! I recommend cooking and drying all seafoods and veggies used to prevent them from producing more water as the lasagna bakes. I added 2 eggs but was still runny. Perhaps I would also cut down on the canned soup by 1/2 cup and increase the cheese mixture by 1 cup. It was my first time to make lasagna and it looked like goulash but the taste alone was 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Great recipe!! I also substituted ricotta for cottage cheese. I also used crawfish tails, bay scallops as well as shrimp, it turned out awesome. I tried it as a special in my restaurant and sold 30 orders in two nights!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PORTLYCOOK

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Ely, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
It was absolutely fabulous. I did, however, make some adjustments after reading the comments from other users. I cooked more noodles (15 instead of 8) and layered five of each in three layers). I used ricotta cheese instead of cottage and the flavor was delightful. Next time I might try cottage and put it through the blender to obtain the same consistenty as the ricotta was quite expensive in comparison. I used shrimp, scallops and imitation crab (flaked pollock) and increased the number of eggs to "2" to better hold the cheese mixture together. I omitted to wine and used a very sparse amount of milk. I would definately recommend baking this the night before and re-heating. I failed to do this and kicked myself the next day when I heated up leftovers. Definately a 5 star recipe!!! YUM YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
I love this lasagne! A little rich, but delicious. I also make the sauce and use it as an Alfredo sauce over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
Delish! I did omit the onions because I hate them, instead I sauteed minced garlic in with the cheese sauce. Also instead of the basil I had to use parsley (all that I had in the house) Next time I plan on using cream of shrimp and ricotta as others have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFUNK1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
Very rich and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Lasagna

See how to create a beautiful, classic lasagna in just a few easy steps.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States