Auntie's Wild Huckleberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I thought the addition of vinegar was odd, but the flavor wasn't offensive–the berries needed a bit of balance as they were very sweet. The consistency is nice, and worked well with a lattice top (no sinking). I used Martha's pate brisee recipe for my crust which was flaky and crisp and didn't require foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Fantastic! The vinegar makes it special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livingston, Montana, USA
Living In: Goldendale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I only found a few things wrong with this pie, but it was enough to ruin it for me, and I feel compelled to warn anyone who is about to use their precious huckleberries on this one. I would omit the cider vinegar. I feel cheated wasting my $16 worth of handpicked wild huckleberries from the farmer's market on this. Huckleberries are a rare treat with a unique flavor that deserve to stand alone, not be compromised with the taste of vinegar of all things! I thought maybe it was my pregnancy hormones making me more sensitive, but when my husband started sniffing the pie, I asked him why, and he said, "Why does it smell like vinegar?" And NO, I did not add any more than the recipe called for. It was also a bit runny at slightly warm temperature where you want to serve so it could use some more tapioca or other thickener. I tried this with a cream cheese crust which was delicious. I know people use lemon juice in this type of pie, so that might be a better alternative to the vinegar, but probably better to just leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
The vinegar ruined it for me. and the pie was runny also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This was a hit and set up without running all over but not to solid. It has been a hit every time I have made it. This year we picked 75 quarts of huckleberries and so I canned them in quart bottles. This was a great recipe but because I used bottled huckleberries there was a lot of liquid. I drained the liquid off and thickened it with 3 T of cornstarch, cooled and then added back in the berries and added tapioca flour, which I made by blending whole tapiocca. Let that sit while making the crust. The berries were bottled with a light syrup so I decreased the sugar to 1/2 c. and put in lemon juice instead of vinegar. I also didn't add in the butter. Cinnamon always enhances huckleberries so I sprinkled cinnamon sugar on the top of the crust. This will be my stand-by from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLSQUIRES

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kris W.
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I was nervous about this recipe because of the effort in getting 4 cups of huckleberries. I will not use a T of vinegar if I ever make this again. The vinegar was very strong when the pie first cooled, but not too bad this morning. I still don't think it needs it, or maybe just a touch of lemon juice. These berries are not sweet to begin with. I also used minute tapioca which I think worked fine. I didn't think to brush my crust with cream or egg, and wish it would have been suggested in the recipe. I didn't need to cover crust to keep from overbrowning, which I did and it's pale. It's okay alone, better with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Very Very Good! I got lots of compliments! Thank You for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindamcl60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
FABULOUS--I got unlimited compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
This was awesome. My dad brought me back some huckleberries from Washington last summer. I usually freeze them and make daquaris but decided to make a dessert for once. Im so glad I did. A+. Thank you so much. Will make again when he brings more back this August. I cant wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
A sure hit up here in Idaho. Wish everyone could find these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nokomis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Priest River, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States