Auntie's Wild Huckleberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I thought the addition of vinegar was odd, but the flavor wasn't offensive–the berries needed a bit of balance as they were very sweet. The consistency is nice, and worked well with a lattice top (no sinking). I used Martha's pate brisee recipe for my crust which was flaky and crisp and didn't require foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Fantastic! The vinegar makes it special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livingston, Montana, USA
Living In: Goldendale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I only found a few things wrong with this pie, but it was enough to ruin it for me, and I feel compelled to warn anyone who is about to use their precious huckleberries on this one. I would omit the cider vinegar. I feel cheated wasting my $16 worth of handpicked wild huckleberries from the farmer's market on this. Huckleberries are a rare treat with a unique flavor that deserve to stand alone, not be compromised with the taste of vinegar of all things! I thought maybe it was my pregnancy hormones making me more sensitive, but when my husband started sniffing the pie, I asked him why, and he said, "Why does it smell like vinegar?" And NO, I did not add any more than the recipe called for. It was also a bit runny at slightly warm temperature where you want to serve so it could use some more tapioca or other thickener. I tried this with a cream cheese crust which was delicious. I know people use lemon juice in this type of pie, so that might be a better alternative to the vinegar, but probably better to just leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
The vinegar ruined it for me. and the pie was runny also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This was a hit and set up without running all over but not to solid. It has been a hit every time I have made it. This year we picked 75 quarts of huckleberries and so I canned them in quart bottles. This was a great recipe but because I used bottled huckleberries there was a lot of liquid. I drained the liquid off and thickened it with 3 T of cornstarch, cooled and then added back in the berries and added tapioca flour, which I made by blending whole tapiocca. Let that sit while making the crust. The berries were bottled with a light syrup so I decreased the sugar to 1/2 c. and put in lemon juice instead of vinegar. I also didn't add in the butter. Cinnamon always enhances huckleberries so I sprinkled cinnamon sugar on the top of the crust. This will be my stand-by from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLSQUIRES

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kris W.
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I was nervous about this recipe because of the effort in getting 4 cups of huckleberries. I will not use a T of vinegar if I ever make this again. The vinegar was very strong when the pie first cooled, but not too bad this morning. I still don't think it needs it, or maybe just a touch of lemon juice. These berries are not sweet to begin with. I also used minute tapioca which I think worked fine. I didn't think to brush my crust with cream or egg, and wish it would have been suggested in the recipe. I didn't need to cover crust to keep from overbrowning, which I did and it's pale. It's okay alone, better with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Very Very Good! I got lots of compliments! Thank You for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindamcl60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
FABULOUS--I got unlimited compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
This was awesome. My dad brought me back some huckleberries from Washington last summer. I usually freeze them and make daquaris but decided to make a dessert for once. Im so glad I did. A+. Thank you so much. Will make again when he brings more back this August. I cant wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
A sure hit up here in Idaho. Wish everyone could find these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nokomis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Priest River, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States