Auntie's Buttermilk Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This has to be exactly the recipe my great granny always used! It was lost several years ago and I've been looking ever since. This is perfect the way it is, absolutely no need to change a thing! I didn't have the problem of needing extra baking time either. The perfect comfort food! I top it with the buttermilk sauce from a recipe on this site-Apple Cake with Buttermilk Sauce. That's how granny always served it, and the sauce recipe was with the cake recipe! Thank you for giving me back a piece of my childhood! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Are you kidding me?? This is by far THE BEST cake I have ever made from scratch! And I have tried a lot of homemade cake recipes. I did make some slight alterations: I added 2 Tablespoons of coconut cream pudding mix(that is the dry mix) and about 1/4 c milk. I didn't think there was enough liquid. All the rest of the directions I followed exactly. BTW, for those who don't like coconut, you can't detect any coconut flavor in the cake at all. My family LOVED this cake. They ate them very fast and kept commenting everytime they had a piece how delicious it was. I added a frosting that made it even better. It has a caramel flavor and is called buttermilk frosting. I will post it for anyone who wants to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
My family loved the cake. My eggs were considered large, but seemed small for a large egg. Therefore, I used 5 egg whites. I used butter for the shortening. I had no shortening in the house, and butter worked wonderful. Also, I could not find orange extract in my pantry and remembered that cherry and almond go together well. I melted one stick of butter, added one pound of confectioners sugar, a little whipping cream and one teaspoon cherry flavor. DELICIOUS. I will make this cake again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This is an excellent recipe. It tastes just like wedding cake. I followed directions exactly but baked it in a bundt pan instead of 13 x 9 pan. Frosted it with white buttercream frosting flavored w/ 1 t. each of vanilla and almond extract. (This should also be posted under cakes instead of just under buttermilk recipes.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
What a great way to use leftover buttermilk! I stirred in about a cup of chocolate chips to the batter to make it more palatable to my teenagers. When I bake this again, I may cut back on the vanilla and almond extracts to about 1/2 teaspoon each. The flavorings overpowered the cake just a little. I baked this in a bundt pan for about 40 minutes. I topped the cooled cake with a simple glaze made from 1 cup of powdered sugar and about 2tbsp orange juice with just a dash of orange extract. Very attractive on my pedestal cake dish and tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEF MARY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
WOW!! Was this a great recipe. What an incredible cake; so moist; so tasty and not too sweet. I didn't change anything in the recipe and I added the sggestion of using the buttermilk sauce as a glaze and it was delicious. Definitely a keeper!! We will make it again and perhaps try a different glaze. We also used a bundt pan and needed to bake it for 1 hr.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin Lakes, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I've made this a couple of times, but added four whole eggs, omitted the almond extract, and calculated the best baking time at 28 minutes (in my oven, anyway!). Also, topped it off with a lemon glaze--a simple mixture of lemon juice and powdered sugar to taste. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
A thick, almost pound cake texture, just sweet enough, and easy to work with. Perfect for carving. Thank you so much! This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lycoris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
WOW!! I love love love this cake. I used this recipe last weekend for a wedding cake and everyone commented on how good it was!! I used butter instead of shortening, and just added the egg whites when I was creaming the butter and sugar (yes I"m very lazy), no almond, and I thought it was perfect. The ladies said it was a dream to slice!! I really think the younger generation is so used to eating bakery/boxed cake mixes, that they really don't appreciate this denser cake. My only regret is that I can't give it six stars...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This is one of the best cakes I've ever had! I did make some changes, though. First, I used 1/2 cup high quality butter and 1/4 cup shortening instead of all shortening which I think gave it a richer flavor. Secondly, I used King Arthur AP flour instead of cake flour which I think gave it a better crumb. I made it in a bundt pan which gave it lots of crunchy surface. And I used the buttermilk sauce recipe given by another reviewer and spooned this while warm on the plate next to the cooled cake--spectacular! The cake has a lovely crunch to the outside and with the sauce it is so delicious. To the reviewer who thought this cake bland, I would recommend trying it this way because it is rich and has a terrific blend of wonderful flavors. P.S. I think it is crucial to use whole buttermilk which is hard to find. All of the grocery stores here carry only low fat (yuck) so I had to go to Whole Foods
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States