Auntie's Buttermilk Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2000
I've tried this recipe twice. Once in a 13x9 inch pan and once in a bundt pan. Each time additional time of up to 15-20 minutes was required to bake batter completely. My family and friends thought this cake was not their favorite. I don't think I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
I used regular flour and did not sift. I used four egg whites and made sure they were stiff. The cake turned out perfect, and the taste and texture was exactly what I expected. Great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This has to be exactly the recipe my great granny always used! It was lost several years ago and I've been looking ever since. This is perfect the way it is, absolutely no need to change a thing! I didn't have the problem of needing extra baking time either. The perfect comfort food! I top it with the buttermilk sauce from a recipe on this site-Apple Cake with Buttermilk Sauce. That's how granny always served it, and the sauce recipe was with the cake recipe! Thank you for giving me back a piece of my childhood! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Are you kidding me?? This is by far THE BEST cake I have ever made from scratch! And I have tried a lot of homemade cake recipes. I did make some slight alterations: I added 2 Tablespoons of coconut cream pudding mix(that is the dry mix) and about 1/4 c milk. I didn't think there was enough liquid. All the rest of the directions I followed exactly. BTW, for those who don't like coconut, you can't detect any coconut flavor in the cake at all. My family LOVED this cake. They ate them very fast and kept commenting everytime they had a piece how delicious it was. I added a frosting that made it even better. It has a caramel flavor and is called buttermilk frosting. I will post it for anyone who wants to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
My family loved the cake. My eggs were considered large, but seemed small for a large egg. Therefore, I used 5 egg whites. I used butter for the shortening. I had no shortening in the house, and butter worked wonderful. Also, I could not find orange extract in my pantry and remembered that cherry and almond go together well. I melted one stick of butter, added one pound of confectioners sugar, a little whipping cream and one teaspoon cherry flavor. DELICIOUS. I will make this cake again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This is an excellent recipe. It tastes just like wedding cake. I followed directions exactly but baked it in a bundt pan instead of 13 x 9 pan. Frosted it with white buttercream frosting flavored w/ 1 t. each of vanilla and almond extract. (This should also be posted under cakes instead of just under buttermilk recipes.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
What a great way to use leftover buttermilk! I stirred in about a cup of chocolate chips to the batter to make it more palatable to my teenagers. When I bake this again, I may cut back on the vanilla and almond extracts to about 1/2 teaspoon each. The flavorings overpowered the cake just a little. I baked this in a bundt pan for about 40 minutes. I topped the cooled cake with a simple glaze made from 1 cup of powdered sugar and about 2tbsp orange juice with just a dash of orange extract. Very attractive on my pedestal cake dish and tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEF MARY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I loved this cake for the fact that it was delicate, moist, and not too sweet. I only sifted the flour twice, and I used all purpose. I added a lemon/confection sugar icing to it which gave it a nice touch. I'll keep this in my repertoire. And it was pretty easy, though I used alot of bowls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
WOW!! Was this a great recipe. What an incredible cake; so moist; so tasty and not too sweet. I didn't change anything in the recipe and I added the sggestion of using the buttermilk sauce as a glaze and it was delicious. Definitely a keeper!! We will make it again and perhaps try a different glaze. We also used a bundt pan and needed to bake it for 1 hr.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin Lakes, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Not sure what happened with my cake but it didn't rise at all so it seemed very dense to me. My husband wasn't real thrilled with the flavor although I thought it tasted ok. The only thing that helped it was the one bowl buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States