Auntie's Buttermilk Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I have made this recipe a few times and I love it every time. I have always made it into cupcakes and they are always well received. As an aside I love the reviewer that gives this recipe a low rating because she was looking for a vanilla cake recipe and this one is too "eggy" for her. Hey lady she didn't advertise it was a vanilla cake so your review is pointless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Weiser, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shushanjan
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I love it. So moist and light, it's not very sweet, which is a great combination with the chocolate ganache I covered it with. Check the photo. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This is one of the best cakes I've ever had! I did make some changes, though. First, I used 1/2 cup high quality butter and 1/4 cup shortening instead of all shortening which I think gave it a richer flavor. Secondly, I used King Arthur AP flour instead of cake flour which I think gave it a better crumb. I made it in a bundt pan which gave it lots of crunchy surface. And I used the buttermilk sauce recipe given by another reviewer and spooned this while warm on the plate next to the cooled cake--spectacular! The cake has a lovely crunch to the outside and with the sauce it is so delicious. To the reviewer who thought this cake bland, I would recommend trying it this way because it is rich and has a terrific blend of wonderful flavors. P.S. I think it is crucial to use whole buttermilk which is hard to find. All of the grocery stores here carry only low fat (yuck) so I had to go to Whole Foods
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
WOW!! I love love love this cake. I used this recipe last weekend for a wedding cake and everyone commented on how good it was!! I used butter instead of shortening, and just added the egg whites when I was creaming the butter and sugar (yes I"m very lazy), no almond, and I thought it was perfect. The ladies said it was a dream to slice!! I really think the younger generation is so used to eating bakery/boxed cake mixes, that they really don't appreciate this denser cake. My only regret is that I can't give it six stars...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This was a hit at work - we had several parents come in and they raved about this. I didn't have cake flour but I did sift regular flour several times. The folding in of the egg whites is crucial to keep it light. Like someone else said, she used the Buttermilk sauce from another recipe so I'm adding it here. BUTTERMILK SAUCE: 1 cup sugar 1/2 cup butter or margarine 1/2 teaspoon baking soda 1/2 cup buttermilk Bring all ingredients to a boil then simmer briefly, stirring frequently. Immediately, spoon over cake. (I did this while the cake was still warm in the pan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
A thick, almost pound cake texture, just sweet enough, and easy to work with. Perfect for carving. Thank you so much! This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lycoris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This cake wasn't my cup of tea. I've been trying to find the perfect vanilla cake and they all come out too "egg-y". This one was egg-y as well. The search continues...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I have been eating this cake all week, and I honestly think it gets even better as it sits! The only changes I made were to use butter instead of shortening, and I also added at least 1/4 c more buttermilk, because my batter was so thick before folding in the egg whites. I also had to bake it longer. Turned out perfect, though! I spread a thin glaze with buttermilk, vanilla, powdered sugar and butter over the top. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I've made this a couple of times, but added four whole eggs, omitted the almond extract, and calculated the best baking time at 28 minutes (in my oven, anyway!). Also, topped it off with a lemon glaze--a simple mixture of lemon juice and powdered sugar to taste. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Not sure what happened with my cake but it didn't rise at all so it seemed very dense to me. My husband wasn't real thrilled with the flavor although I thought it tasted ok. The only thing that helped it was the one bowl buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States