Auntie Doris's Peach Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
Nice fresh-tasting jam. Really easy to make and not too overpoweringly like marmalade. My family really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angy Stimson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Depew, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
The bad news is that the mixture never thickened like jam usually does. It just stayed runny. The good news is that now I have some delicious peach syrup for pancakes,waffles,and ice cream. I guess every disaster has a silver lining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
This is similar to a family recipe I make every year, but here are a few tips: the combination of peaches and oranges should not exceed 4 cups or it won't set, as someone already found out (their peaches were too big, i bet). Also, add some grated orange zest and 1/4 slivered almonds and you get more of a marmalade that can't be beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Though others have raved about it mine did not come out well. It tastes completely orange with no hint of peach at all. I made sure that it was 4 cups worth of peaches like a previous poster said. And I would highly recommend using pectin because mine still was syrupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Too syrupy? Once fruit is transparent (ready), transfer it with a slotted spoon to another bowl. Simmer on LOW, the syrup until thickened to your preference. Place fruit back in, stir and bring to proper heat and then place in jars. This goes for any jam/preserve recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Followed the recipe but added 3 very tart apples and simmered gently for 2 1/2 hours. Peeled the oranges though as I didn't want marmelade. Tested the jam by taking a spoonful on a cold plate and found it felt and tasted like like jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
The Jam set well, no issues there. I read somewhere that if you cook it too long, it will not turn out well. I cooked it for about 45 mins to 1 hour. Set perfectly. What I wasn't crazy about was the orange peel. It made it a little bitter and it tasted so much like orange not enough peach. I even cut the oranges down to 3. That is why it has 3 stars. Next time I might try it along with a teaspoon of Lemon juice and one apple for the pectin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I make this all the time, I also add one lemon. I put all the fruit through a meat grinder and it comes out wonderful. One of my favorite jams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrea Manuszak
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
kids and husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Manuszak

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Peach Preserves

These fragrant, fruity preserves are amazing on toast, biscuits, and pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States