Aunt Zula's Christmas Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2000
I thought that this was one of the best sugar cookie recipes that I have ever tried. I liked that the dough didn't have to be refigerated before rolling it out. That makes it probably the fastest sugar cookie to make. These are meant to be iced. I highly recommend using the Butter Icing for Sugar Cookies on this website. Using these two together I have decorated cookies for Valentine's Day, Halloween, and Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2000
This is the best sugar cookie recipe I have tried. Very quick and easy. I made these for the people at work and most of them asked for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGIEBENZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
This is so easy to make and, with an adequately floured surface, easy work with. I used 1/2 butter crisco and 1/2 regular crisco for more flavor. I've used this recipe for a few years now, I think it's the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This recipe was yummy! I actually made it for 144 servings (288 cookies) for family and gift giving. wow. a luscious cutout cookie, that improved as the days went on...it did not disintigrate or get crumbly and was a dream to decorate. As it is not too sweet, the icing was the treat, and it got an A-1 rating by the hubby and kids for dunking in milk or hot cocoa. Very addictive cookies. YUMMY! (Note: blend all ingredients very carefully as you go if you're making a mega-batch, especially!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
This recipe is easy to work with and makes beautiful cookies..perfect for decorating. The only negative comment I could make is these cookies have very little taste on their own. They need frosting or something to add some taste. then they are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
I discovered this wonderful recipe when I was 15 years old.It became tradition that I make these cookies every year for my boss and my older sister. Now five years later I am still being asked by everyone to make these. They are great using butter or margarine, frosting with a simple icing sugar and butter icing is awesome. Thanx for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2000
This recipe is great tasting, super quick, and easy enough for anyone to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
Thank you so much. This was very easy for a Virgin Cookie maker. My 10 year old daughter and myself looked like professional cookie makers!! The cookies werent too sweet.. and when we iced them they were perfect!!!!!! thanks again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
I tried these cookies for the first time and I ended up making two batches!!! They were so easy and they rolled out just perfectly even for me!!!(I am not the most patient when it comes to rolling out dough!!) Once frosted they were delicously moist and perfectly sweet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
Great recipe! Cookies are delicious, light and crisp. Easy to make. One hint - the dough was rather sticky for rolling out, I had to use quite a bit of flour for dusting the pin & the table top. Other than that, excellent recipe. I will make it again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States