Aunt Zula's Christmas Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
These cookies are great!! I have been searching for a good cut-out cookie recipe and finally found one! They were easy to make and have a nice flavor. I will be making these next year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
The name got me and I had to try them. I'm glad I did. Easy to cut out and held their shape well. Thanks, Heather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
It's true that this dough requires no chilling, which is nice. The cookies cut out very easily. And because they are not sweet themselves, they balance out very well with a sweet frosting. One problem: They are extremely dry! They were dry right out of the oven, and after only two days in a sealed container, they are completely crumbly. We'll keep searching for that holy grail of sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
I discovered this wonderful recipe when I was 15 years old.It became tradition that I make these cookies every year for my boss and my older sister. Now five years later I am still being asked by everyone to make these. They are great using butter or margarine, frosting with a simple icing sugar and butter icing is awesome. Thanx for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
I tried these cookies for the first time and I ended up making two batches!!! They were so easy and they rolled out just perfectly even for me!!!(I am not the most patient when it comes to rolling out dough!!) Once frosted they were delicously moist and perfectly sweet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
Thank you so much. This was very easy for a Virgin Cookie maker. My 10 year old daughter and myself looked like professional cookie makers!! The cookies werent too sweet.. and when we iced them they were perfect!!!!!! thanks again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
These cookies turned out very bland - my 2 & 3 year old boys wouldn't eat more than one...even with icing. I was too embarrassed to bring them to a preschool program so I ending up throwing them all away. This recipe has been tossed in the recycling never to be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
This is so easy to make and, with an adequately floured surface, easy work with. I used 1/2 butter crisco and 1/2 regular crisco for more flavor. I've used this recipe for a few years now, I think it's the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This recipe was yummy! I actually made it for 144 servings (288 cookies) for family and gift giving. wow. a luscious cutout cookie, that improved as the days went on...it did not disintigrate or get crumbly and was a dream to decorate. As it is not too sweet, the icing was the treat, and it got an A-1 rating by the hubby and kids for dunking in milk or hot cocoa. Very addictive cookies. YUMMY! (Note: blend all ingredients very carefully as you go if you're making a mega-batch, especially!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2001
This is a fantastic recipe for making a simple cutout cookie as a base for a flavorful icing. I substituted butter for shortening and added a pinch of baking powder to puff them up a little bit. I did need to refrigerate the dough before rolling it out. When they cooled them I mixed up a thin icing of confectioner's sugar, corn syrup, a touch of juice, and some food coloring. The cookie is perfect for a fruity icing since it is not to sweet. The icing hardens and the cookies look and taste as though they're from a bakery. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States