Aunt Wanda's Turkey Carcass Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Way too much rice, though we followed the directions exactly, so it turned into a strange kind of turkey-rice stew rather than soup. We will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Hello! I havent even finished cooking it yet, the soup is still trying to boil but I tried the juice, and it takes great! I had to doctor the recipe a bit for my home ingredients. I added a can of carrots, carrots and peas, 8 oz frozen italian cut green beans, 2 cups rice, 1 can chicken noodle soup (totally not necessary, great before I added it honestly,but I wanted to kick up the flavor) sage, meat tenderizer, italian seasoning, salt, pepper, chili pepper. a dab of mexican hot sauce. Come to think of it this sounds like a new recipe, lol! But I used your base, I had no idea what to do with this turkey carcass. Thanks so much Aunt Wanda!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Used green peas instead of green beans, and added a few bay leaves for flavour. Very good recipe- but far too much rice. Halve the amount of rice at least and then youve got a nice soup recipe (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Booth

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
(4 Stars for messy prep.) Great to have this recipe because it provides the proper proportions of ingredients to combine with the turkey carcass for soup success every time. The one 'improvement' I suggest is a trick I have used for years for the 'bones' from poultry, etc,. when boiling. Most dollars stores sell packs of small size zipper mesh bags for hand washables. I put all the things that need to be 'picked' from the soup (carcass, bay leaves, etc.) into the mesh bag which then is easily removed from the cooked soup when finished. Thus, removing any bones & other debris afterward is an easy, simple task before returning the 'good stuff' to the finished soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
The way it is written will take a lot of effort for someone who doesnt know how to cook, but this is a good recipe, just needs to be re-written to those that need to be told to do 1, 2, 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMANKAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This soup has no flavor. If you don't care about flavor you'll love this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
Personally, I make my broth the way PatsyK describes below. The only difference is that prior to simmering the bones and stock veggies, I roast the broken up carcass/skin/meat in the oven at a high heat, turning regularly. This adds a really good flavor to the stock, and also turns it a nice golden brown color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
I used this recipe with a few changes based on other reviews. Omit the rice. Add wide egg noodles the last 15 minutes. I used the spices that I would use with chicken soup. Oregano,basil,bay leaves,majoram,ground thyme,salt,pepper and a little lemon juice. Tastes great and made a whole pot of soup with what I would have thrown away. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
My problem with this soup is the method. As written, you end up sorting though the vegetables to fish out the bones, fine if you get them all, dangerous and messy if you don't. I like to boil the turkey carcass in water with onions, celery, herbs, and carrots added for flavor, then strain the broth and put it out on the porch until the fat rises. I throw away the fat and cook the "final" vegetables in the strained broth. Takes a bit longer, but surely less of a mess. The flavor of the soup is great, though, as long as you don't use too much water. By making the broth before adding the final vegetables, you have the option of cooking down the broth to concentrate it if needed. This broth is rich in calcium because of the bones, for an additional bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
I'm sorry but I tried this recipe and the soup was less than tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States