Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2006
***PLEASE READ IF YOU ARE HAVING TROUBLE WITH CRUMBLY, GREASY FUDGE!*** I've used this recipe probably 50 times, and I've had it not turn out twice. The first time I used generic marshmallow cream. I don't recommend using any store brand ingredients in this fudge. The second time I used an enameled cast iron french oven, and it didn't turn out that time, either. Every time I use my calphalon, it turns out great. Also.....work fast! The faster the better. Don't start timing until the mixture is at a full, rolling boil and then reduce the temperature slightly so that it doesn't scorch. Stir the entire five minutes and have the chocolate chips measured out ahead of time so you can dump them in as soon as you turn off the heat and stir like mad. Get the chips fully incorporated and pour immediately. It never fails!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Absolutely incredible fudge! It is perfectly smooth, creamy, chocolately, and all-around enjoyable. Try putting the marshmallow creme in the microwave for about 15 seconds before adding it to the pan; it will come out of the jar much easier. Though the cooking experience would have been less stressful with one, a candy thermometer really isn't necessary. One tablespoon of butter is just the right amount, and boiling the mixture for around 7 minutes instead of five can assure that the fudge will solidify. Some found that the recipe was a bit too sweet, so taking out 1/4 cup of sugar can tame some of the super-sweetness. Finally, using 2 cups of the semisweet chips and 1 cup of the milk chocolate chips instead of the other way around can make an even richer fudge (especially for those dark chocolate lovers like me). It is THE BEST fudge recipe around, and I am sure that I will make it again and again for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
739 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
This was my first time to make fudge and it turned out great! Many people at my dessert buffet said that it was the best fudge they had ever had. It was so creamy - not grainy at all. I have to say, though, that I messed up the first time I tried it. Because I had the marshmallow creme in the very bottom of the pan and I got the heat too high too fast, I burned the marshmallow creme into hard brown chunks! The second time, I kept the temperature at low until it was mixed up well and then I turned the heat up to medium and boiled it. That worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
562 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
Basically, this represents a terrific, 5-star fudge recipe; I would tweak the instructions, though. First, cook for 6-1/2 minutes, because at 5 minutes, it really needs to be kept in the fridge to maintain the right texture. If you DO prefer the super-creaminess of the 5-minute cooking time, then it will be far less "melty" if, after refrigeration, you cut it into squares and let the squares "air-harden" on racks or trays until the sides are not tacky. (Obviously, this is kind of a pain, so I go with the 6-1/2 minutes!) And finally: This is too much butter. 1 tablespoon works well, and the butter can actually be left out completely if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
435 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
OMG! You really don't need another review to tell you how creamy this fudge is! I do want to offer you some tips in making fudge as it was passed along to me and it does make a difference. Do NOT substiute butter for margarine. Margarine has a higher water content and it will disturb the balance in fudge making. As well, you should also use whole evaporated milk. I found using 2%, 1% or fatfree evaporated milk, I don't get the absolute best results as i do with whole evaporated milk. I start out stirring until well blended on low heat first so that the sugar is completely disolved. This will prevent grainy texture. I've also been told not to make fudge in high humidity or rainy days as the moisture causes the fudge not to set as well which i guess i find that to be true today as it is raining and humidity is slightly high. Therefore, i do find this fudge is too soft. They say making fudge is very moody. This is the best recipe and will be a keeper in my family. Thanks for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
306 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
Coincidentally, a recipe very close to this is on the back of the Marshmallow Fluff jar. My daughter and I made it last night. The secret is to use a candy thermometer to be sure the fudge reaches the soft ball stage (234 degrees). Ours didn't reach temperature until well after five minutes boiling time, possibly because we kept the flame low to prevent burning. (Using a double boiler, as someone here suggested, is a great idea; we may try that the next time we make this.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Chocoholics Beware! This stuff is highly addictive! Sinfully rich, decadent, and creamy are just a few of the words that come to mind when describing this fudge. It's so good and so easy to make. I did cut the sugar back by 1/4 cup and used a non-stick pan which I highly recommend. Bring this to a boill slowly, stir constantly and you should have no problems. I lined my 8x8 pan with Reynolds non-stick foil and it came out perfect. This recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
My mother used to make fudge every Christmas, and although I wanted to carry on that tradition the traditional fudge recipes were all so hard, and never seemed to turn out well. I tried this recipe last year, and not only was it quick and super easy, the fudge tasted spectacular! I made 3 kinds (just like Mom!), chocolate fudge with nuts, chocolate mint fudge (added mint extract) and butterscotch fudge with pecans (used butterscotch chips instead of chocolate). My family loved all three kinds, but the butterscotch was rated the best. Thank you Kelly for sharing this recipe! Now I can carry on the tradition of delicious fudge for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATHERHIPPO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kellogg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
I just made this for the first time last night. I've never made fudge before and I think that this is a very good one to begin with. It was really very easy and firmed up just like it should. I kept it on medium heat the entire time, stirring from beginning to end. I started the 5 minute timing right when just a couple bubbles tried to come up when I stopped stirring, and when I stirred then, you could 'feel' and 'hear' far more bubbles that were not visible to the naked eye, more under the thick surface. I think if you wait to just 'see' the rapid boil before starting the five minute time, you will overcook it, getting the hard result. Takes a little bit for it to start 'boiling' and you have to stop stirring from time to time to check for the first telltale bubbles. This was smooth and did not have a gritty sugary texture, not bad at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
I made this for 3 years now - let me tell you - THANK YOU AUNT TEEN - she rocks whoever she is. everyone loves the fudge - i have made a couple changes over the years (sorry auntie) but try this: instead of 1/2 cup of semi-sweet - use 1 cup (it removes some of the buttery/greasy) nuke the mallow for 10 seconds first - it will come out of the jar easier!!! and my absolute favorite addition is this: replace the semi-sweet with gharardelli chocolate choclate chips HEAVEN - thanks again! this was great!!! and i agree with everyone else's ideas -must cook longer than 6 minutes until nice brown and YES LOW HEAT - med heat got out of control (i have gas stove) and got really greasy happy holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,670) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States