Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I am not a candy maker, or at least thought I was not, because my previous attempts at fudge were unsuccessful to put it mildly. I can do cookies, cakes, pies, breads, muffins ... but just thought I would have to leave the candy making to someone else. That was BEFORE I tried this recipe this morning. Oh My Goodness is all I can say. I followed the recipe to the letter and it is perfect. I used a very heavy pan to reduce the chance of scorching, used a rubber spatula spoon to stir, and heated up the ingredients very slowly on low heat to start with until it was smooth and then turned the heat up to wait for the boil. Stir constantly, have everything ready, and you will not be disappointed. I am going to make another batch this evening using peanut butter chips. Thank you for a wonderful fudge recipe and showing me that I can make candy, I just needed the right recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Consistently very good and quite easy. This is my go-to fudge recipe now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUASHBLOSSOMGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This came out great! My first time ever making fudge and it was awesome. Creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy McSprouts Couillard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I followed the directions exactly as written. I am an experienced cook, and have made several batches of fudge in my lifetime. This one was the worst I have ever tasted. It is greasy, and the taste is not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
WOW!!! I had never been successful with fudge until now and it is sooooo good. As good as any Ive ever had before. I followed the 1st reviewers advice to stir like crazy and work fast. Otherwise, the only thing I changed was left out the nuts and added a pecan half to each square while the fudge was warm.Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I have made this for the last few years and it is as good as anything I've ever had. SO delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peru, Illinois, USA
Living In: Odell, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This was amazingly good and easy. I browsed a ton of the reviews and here are some of the tips I used that made it so easy: pre-measure everything and have it all lined up and ready to go. Butter the sides of your saucepan. Reduce the butter to only ONE TABLESPOON (trust me on this, you don't need any more!). Zap the Fluf in micro for 12 seconds and it comes out much easier. Don't use generic Fluf. Use best quality chocolate chips...you are making FUDGE---this is not the time to buy generic, you want to taste quality chocolate! If you can, use a candy thermometer to make sure the sugar mixture reaches 234 degrees. STIR THE ENTIRE TIME! I cooked this in a heavy stainless pan on LOW and it came to a boil in a few short minutes (maybe less), then I started timing right at a full boil and it took about 5 1/2 minutes. Keeping it on low stops the bottom from burning, but it still boils mightily, that's for sure. Once it reaches 234 degrees, follow the recipe directions, BUT WORK QUICKLY. (It was a light brown color, btw.) Dump your chocolate in and beat like crazy to get it soft and shiny. Then add in your vanilla and nuts (if using). Again work as quickly as you can and beat like a maniac....you definitely need upper body strength for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Very smooth and creamy fudge. It was so good, I was like a little kid and couldn't stop eating it until I felt sick! Excellent, easy recipe. Followed the directions exactly and it turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This is such an easy recipe. I also have substiuted the chocolate chips for peanut butter chips. I use 3 cups peanut butter chips and then you have peanut butter fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I read some of the tips, reviews and such. I followed the directions but added 1 minute to the boil time, evened up the ratio of chocolate, half and half on the semi sweet and milk chocolate chips. I also added 3/4 cup of Heath Bar pieces. It turned out awesome and I WILL be making this again and for Christmas presents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 1,673) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States