Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I read many of the reviews and some folks were concerned about the fudge being over sweet. My grandmother made fantastic fudge but she always used unsweeten chocolate in her recipe. Hers did not include the marshmallow creme which is very sweet plus the addition of 1-1/2 cups of sugar. My suggestion would be to use unsweetened chocolate or at least the majority. She also never used milk chocolate..........just her preference. I haven't made this yet but it sounds fantastic. I am a professionally trained pastry chef so this is just my suggestion for over coming the sweet issue however, I don't recommend reducing the sugar or any other ingredient as it will change more than just the flavor. Culinary is one thing and changing ingredients is ok however, it doesn't work that way in the pastry side. Ingredients are based on weight and changing any ingredient will alter the recipe and could end in failure if you're not professionally trained in the formulations required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Excellent! I followed the directions to the letter (without nuts) and it came out perfect! Surprisingly it was not as sweet as I anticipated - still plenty sweet though. The medium-low heat is certainly the trick. It took longer than 5 minutes - I eventually got out the candy thermometer - but the results are worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Hard crumbly and greasy... have to delete this recipe from my box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I had never made fudge before and this was a simple and delicious recipe. I cut the butter in half, only using 2 tbsp per some reviews saying the fudge was greasy. I cooked for 6.5 minutes per some reviews and I also added the marshmallow cream with the chocolate chips off the heat. Everything worked well and turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This was my first time making fudge and it turned out perfect! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmills

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Dickson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Will definetly make again! Nice and creamy fudge! Yummy taste! I put equal amounts of milk chocolate and semi-sweet chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
THIS RECIPE WAS ORIGINALLY ON THE BACK OF NESTLE SEMI-SWEET CHOCOLATE CHIPS. I FOUND IT THERE YEARS AGO AND USE IT ALWAYS UNTIL IT WAS MISPLACED. I WAS GLAD TO FIND IT HERE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
really creamy and decadent! did as others suggested and cooked fro 6.5 min. also did just under 1c of sugar and did half semi sweet, half milk chocolate chips. used 1 T butter and topped with crushed candy canes (no nuts) for christmas. i made this fudge every year for the holidays and it's always a hit. i think the significant reduction of sugar may have contributed to the slight greasiness of the fudge this last time i made it, but it still turned out delicious and not too sweet at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I have made candy of many kinds for years, and I have never had a recipe fail on me like this one. Determined to defeat it, I tried a few times, thinking I must have messed up a step. No matter how careful I was, this fudge always turned into a greasy mess. I've read some reviews that said to put the marshmallow cream in after heating, which is in line with other recipes I have succeeded with. Also, I wonder how many failures are happening at altitude? I had to relearn how to make candy when living over 5000ft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
First time making fudge ever, and it turned out AWESOME! I'm thinking I'll use someone's suggestion next time and cook it a minute or so longer to make the rest of it more firm, but it's SOOOO rich and creamy. :) Used 2 tbls butter instead of the 1/4 cup since others said it was greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 1,664) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States