Aunt Shirley's Dietetic Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I just made the pie and mine does seem a little runny too but its still very hot so I'll wait and see. My son and I both tried it and its okay not bad and I always use sweet n low sweetener but I could definitely tell a difference but we'll see after it sets I just hope my husband who is the diabetic likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kaufman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This is wonderful! I did cheat and buy pre made pie crust. Very east recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I made this for a co-worker that always misses out on the office treats because he cannot have sugar. Instead of apples,I used blackberries (omitted nutmeg and cinnamon). My co-worker RAVED about it and said he and his whole family loved it. Can't wait to make it again, this time with the apples and I will use the nutmeg and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This is the best sugar-free pie recipe. I used the recipe and made a sugar version from America's Test Kitchen. This pie was wiped out well before the full-sugar pie was! The only think I did was upped the amount of cinnamon and nutmeg until I could taste the spices in the filling mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Shirley, you're a genious! I made apple pie using your ingredients & it was a huge hit with the family, including my Type I diabetic son! I made two pies, one with the double crust & the 2nd with a streusel top...both were amazing. Only two things I will do differently next time...I will precook the apples for a few minutes, perhaps simmer them in the sauce...they weren't cooked enough to my liking. 2nd, I'll follow a tip I read & bake it on my baking stone. I was wondering how it would be if I used Splendid brown sugar? I'll have to try that. So thanks for posting this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cwmom98

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waimanalo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Amissville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This pie is a regular request from my father whom is diabetic, but everyone else that is not requests the pie as well. My daughter is learning how to cook and this has become one of her signature desserts for our gatherings. We appreciate you sharing this with our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calypso36

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I am getting ready to try this recipe based on the good reviews. Would it be OK to substitute Splenda for Aspartame. Would the amount of sweetner remain the same? Beth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
A safe low glycemic index sweetner is agave nectar. A 1/4 cup of agave nectar can be used instead of 1 cup of sugar, and it would not spike your blood sugar, and it taste great!!! Use the agave nectar. It is better than honey and maple syrup because it is is lowest of the GI chart!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I made this pie with 1 cup of Splenda for baking & added probably 1/2 stick of butter into the mixture for a more "authentic" apple pie taste. I used 5 big Granny Smith apples, and it wasn't too tart. I've never made an apple pie using cornstarch, but this worked out great because it made the sweetened spice/butter mixture stick to every single piece of the cut up apples. It was the perfect combination of sweet & tart. It was so delicious no one could believe it was sugar free! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
My daughter has a malabsorption disease and she can not have any sugar....I make this for her when everyone else has a treat and she LOVES this! Just be careful with the pie crusts and check to see if it has sugar in it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States