Aunt Sally's Cocoa Drops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2000
Got raves on these lovely "cakey" cookies. They stay soft & taste luscious. Recipe hint: 400F too high...try 350F. Also, great idea to double batch! They disappear WAY too fast!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
These were wonderful!! Kind of like very moist brownie cookies. I left out the walnuts and frosted with chocolate buttercream. Just watch them closely while cooking... one batch went for maybe a minute or two longer and they were very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Wow! I made these for my church and they were delicious. I didn't have any walnuts, and not enough pecans, so I used sliced almonds, but I toasted them first. I mixed together a white icing and tinted it pink- so pretty! :) I loved how cakey these were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2000
I can't keep enough made!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
These cookies do not last long in my kitchen. I have used this recipe for 30 years. We love it! PK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
CAUTION cookie dough lovers!! This cookie dough recipe is great cooked and uncooked, very soft and smooth. I used pecans instead of the walnuts.......thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexander, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
We made these cookies last night at 400 degrees and they turned out fluffy and perfect. We also doubled the batch and had more then enough cookies - 4.5 trays to be exact, so we took them to work to share. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I made these with Splenda (without the icing and with extra chopped walnuts) for diabetics and they loved them. (So did the non-diabetics.) In place of buttermilk, I used a soup spoon of vinegar and then added skim milk to 3/4 cup. I also didn't bother refrigerating the dough and reduced the temperature to 375 F and baked them for 8 minutes. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
These tasted like brownies, with the texture of of a light cake, in a easy to eat cookie shape. I am fascinated by this. The flavor is mild, just enough to satisfy a sweets/chocolate craving without being overwhelming. My family and I ate them alone or broken up with vanilla ice cream. I needed to bake these for 7 minutes at 375 degrees before I was happy with the texture, but that is my oven's fault, not the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin Monks
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Excellent, made the recipe per the directions and everything turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States