Aunt Ruth's Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Does anyone have a crab cake recipe without Mayo?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by small

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Wow! Delicious Family wanted more and so easy to make. We used fresh cooked Dungeness crab in as big chunks as we could keep. Used only 12 butter crackers as that's what we had in the cupboard. Sorry I didn't get a picture as they looked perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Very good although I'm not sure how you get 16 cakes out of this. Great crab ratio and the seasoning was tasty as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Very good, very easy. I didn't have any trouble getting them to stay together when I fried them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Awesome recipe. It got raves from the family. My 80 year old mother who loves crab cakes said it was the best she had ever eaten. I did add an extra egg and doubled the recipe. Will definitely use next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Great easy recipe with lots of crab meat and uses on hand ingredients! We didn't have any saltines so we substituted bread crumbs and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
If you make this, use an extra egg or something to hold the crab cakes together! These are a pain to make. Mine fell apart, so then I took what ingredients was left and did my best forming them into balls (which is tough) and baked them in the oven. They came out and everyone loved the taste, but frying these in a pan with oil does not work if you want to keep them together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
These weren't bad done by the recipe but I think next time I'll use bread crumbs instead of saltines and probably add some sauteed onion for flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
If you are going to go to the trouble of making crab cakes PLEASE DON'T use canned flaked crab meat. That has as much resemblance to real crab meat as canned tuna has to fresh sushi grade tuna. Get fresh LUMP crab meat. If you need to make more than 4-6 crab cakes you can stretch the lump meat by adding a can of "backfin" or "special" to the lump. Saltine crackers are good to add, but 16 to a pound of crab meat is waaay too much. You aren't making saltine cakes, 4 or 5 at the most. The "seafood seasoning" should be Old Bay, don't use an imitation it's not worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Yum! Oh, so simple - and all about the crab! Not "bready" - Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States