Aunt Ro's Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Everyone raved about these beans at my family picnic! I only made a a few modifications. I didn't have bacon, but I did use the ground hamburger and Bob Evans ground sweet sausage that I sauteed together in skillet with onions and minced garlic. I thought it might be overly sweet with one cup of brown sugar, so I used half and it was perfect. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Loved these beans. DH usually will not eat them but he flipped over these! He espically liked the butter beans. I will make these again for a potluck or family gathering. Because the recipe as stated makes a ton! I cut the recipe in half, 2 servings for dinner, and 1 serving for lunch the next day. Then I put 7 individual containers in the freezer. So math from me would be about 20 servings for a whole recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I must admit that I did tweak this recipe a bit! But it was all yummy! I traded out the ground beef for Johnsonville Mild Italian Sausage, and I traded out the butter beans for white beans. Because the baked beans I used already had brown sugar in them, I just sprinkled a little over the top when I was heating up the batch. I probably went a little short on the catsup and bbq sauce. But still, really, this is in the realm of this recipe! I would really suggest that Italian sausage is a GREAT way to tweak this recipe! In fact, this recipe just calls for tweaking however you like your beans! We won't ever buy Honeybaked's baked beans again because they are too sweet for us. This was really really good! Thanks, Aunt Ro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Every time we've served this dish, people have raved about it! Since it makes so much, if we're having it as a weeknight side dish, we'll freeze half the finished recipe and then have a side ready to go a different night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Delicious!! Only change I made was I added a few chopped jalapenos. It gave it a nice sweet with a little spice. I will most definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This was good but a little too sweet for us. Next time I might reduce the brown sugar to 1/2c. or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Made these on Christmas Eve for my wife's birthday/family get together and they were a hit. It say's it makes 6 servings but actually makes a LOT more. Also I made these in the oven instead of a slow cooker, I just baked them at 250 for for 3 hours. AMAZING will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JFallon2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I made these for a potluck and got rave reviews. One of my favorite features of Allrecipes is being able to read what others have tried and how it worked for them, which gives me the confidence to stray away from the recipe if I'm missing an ingredient, or if it has one I don't care for. In this case, I too used Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce, added a bit of mustard, and used kidney beans, garbanzos, great northern, canned limas, and I only had one can of baked beans. It was still delicious...it's really the sauce that makes it, so you can vary the beans any way you want. Prep was quick and easy - this will be my go-to potluck recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Fischer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Very good! My only complaint/warning is to be aware of what kind of bbq sauce you are using. I used Stubbs and it made the beans very (unexpectedly) spicy, which the kids didn't like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Stark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I had this at a b-day part a few weeks ago and couldn't wait to make it for my family. I pre-made it today for dinner tomorrow (busy school night!). I'm going to throw in some all-beef hotdogs when I warm it and serve it with toasted-buttered hotdog buns. The only change I make is to use 28oz cans of baked beans and 2 big cans of kidney beans instead of the pinto and butter beans, because we just like those better. Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AddiesMom6

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States