Aunt Ro's Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Basically, the traditional Calico Beans recipe. Tasty and always popular, and you can make it your own by adding chopped red and/or green peppers, using hot Italian sausage or breakfast sage sausage in place of the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I use whatever canned beans I have on hand, and instead of canned baked beans with bacon, I fry up a few slices of bacon, crumble it, and add it to the top of the beans before baking. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Really good and super easy. Added garlic and sausage. Used turkey instead of beef....pinto beans with jalapeno and kidney beans instead of butter. Used amount of brown sugar listed.....way too sweet!! Maybe 1/4 c next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela K Lightfoot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palestine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Everyone raved about these beans at my family picnic! I only made a a few modifications. I didn't have bacon, but I did use the ground hamburger and Bob Evans ground sweet sausage that I sauteed together in skillet with onions and minced garlic. I thought it might be overly sweet with one cup of brown sugar, so I used half and it was perfect. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Loved these beans. DH usually will not eat them but he flipped over these! He espically liked the butter beans. I will make these again for a potluck or family gathering. Because the recipe as stated makes a ton! I cut the recipe in half, 2 servings for dinner, and 1 serving for lunch the next day. Then I put 7 individual containers in the freezer. So math from me would be about 20 servings for a whole recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I must admit that I did tweak this recipe a bit! But it was all yummy! I traded out the ground beef for Johnsonville Mild Italian Sausage, and I traded out the butter beans for white beans. Because the baked beans I used already had brown sugar in them, I just sprinkled a little over the top when I was heating up the batch. I probably went a little short on the catsup and bbq sauce. But still, really, this is in the realm of this recipe! I would really suggest that Italian sausage is a GREAT way to tweak this recipe! In fact, this recipe just calls for tweaking however you like your beans! We won't ever buy Honeybaked's baked beans again because they are too sweet for us. This was really really good! Thanks, Aunt Ro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Every time we've served this dish, people have raved about it! Since it makes so much, if we're having it as a weeknight side dish, we'll freeze half the finished recipe and then have a side ready to go a different night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Delicious!! Only change I made was I added a few chopped jalapenos. It gave it a nice sweet with a little spice. I will most definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This was good but a little too sweet for us. Next time I might reduce the brown sugar to 1/2c. or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Made these on Christmas Eve for my wife's birthday/family get together and they were a hit. It say's it makes 6 servings but actually makes a LOT more. Also I made these in the oven instead of a slow cooker, I just baked them at 250 for for 3 hours. AMAZING will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Fallon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States